We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pinnacle Inn Resort ( Beech Mountain NC )”
Review of The Pinnacle Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beech Mountain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Pinnacle Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beech Mountain
Villa Rica, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pinnacle Inn Resort ( Beech Mountain NC )”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The worst place I have ever rented. They do not tell you up front , but there is NO A/C
they did not tell me and I did not think I would have to ask , but NO A/C !!!!!
Just heaters , No A/C in the rooms . The buildings look old and they are falling apart.
Please do not stay here , this place is horriable !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and it was Dirty ,
The pool is small and the game room is a joke .
We will never stay there again.
** the drive up the mountain and down it is Dangerous * Be carefull !!

Room Tip: Ask them if they have A/C in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiltedpreacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
technogirltx, Public Relations Manager at The Pinnacle Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. You are correct -- we do not have AC. We are at 5000+ ft above sea level and our normal high temps in the summer average 73 degrees. We have had an unusually warm summer this year, with temps pushing the upper 70s for a few days, and we actually had 2 days over 80. That said... normally opening the front windows and rear sliding door affords a wonderful breeze throughout the condos. Each of our condos is individually owned and I'm not sure where exactly you stayed, but had you let our staff know you were unhappy with your unit, we would have been happy to try to accommodate you (I am assuming you rented from "The Pinnacle Inn" and not from an individual owner NOT on our rental program).

As for the drive up and down the mountain... it is completely paved and in no way dangerous. Curvy roads can be hard to get used to when you are more accustomed to driving on straight, flat roads. We hope you will give us a second chance to change your mind about our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    36
    21
    10
    17
See reviews for
70
26
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Nicely kept and the view is just great. Has all the things you need for a day, week or month. Just bring your clothes.

Room Tip: Check the Pinnacle Inn web site where you can view all the pictures of the condos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pattilane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tally Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is a property made up of many different individual owner's condos and so each one is unique beyond the basic layout; pick a unit based on its description. We did and got one that had just been refurbished. As someone who does refurbishments, the contractor for our unit was not a stickler for details, but that's for the owner to deal with; for us everything was perfect!
The staff was super nice and helpful. The property was convenient to the town of Beech Mtn and then to the slopes. With two families fitting comfortably in one unit, the price was amazingly affordable, especially since we did a mostly weekday visit. The unit was clean and nicely furnished.
The best part might have been the common area, which had a pool, hot tub, dry and wet sauna, ping pong and pool table, and a DVD vending machine; this area saved us as a family. While all the kids got to go skiing and that was our purpose for the trip, they also got to spend a day swimming and playing and watching movies, providing a nice break from the mountain. I wouldn't go on vacation just to use a pool, but if you have kids you understand an indoor pool is always a bonus! And the parents needed the hot tub after a day on the slopes. The outdoor park-style grills were great too.
It's not snooty; high maintenance folks will have issues. It is however perfect for a family going skiing and needing the convenience and simple luxury that a rental condo provides. We looked at places on the ski mountain, but honestly, they were furnished the same, triple the price, without the benefit of shuttle and other amenities, and the snow machines ROAR all night long.
We will be back many times! Thanks Pinnacle!

Room Tip: Visit each unit's site online and go through the options; they vary somewhat and you get to pick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TallaDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

One of the photos posted happens to also be the unit we rented, and the photo with the oars on the wall is where a friend stayed. We all went for a school ski trip - five families. We all had a great time. The pool and hot tub were great to have right there for those of us who weren't interested in skiing and for the kids after coming off the slopes for the day. The pool room also has a sauna, ping-pong table, and dvd's for rent. Our two-bedroom had a queen and king bed, and our daughter decided to sleep on the very comfy sofa. We shared the two-bedroom with another family very comfortably. There was a lot of room, a full kitchen, two bathrooms. The fireplace was lovely. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had everything we needed (well bring some extra dishwasher soap). Overall, it was a great experience. The only thing we would have done differently is having snow chains for getting down the mountain after a heavy snow.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuriousBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

My family stayed here so my teenage son and his buddy could ski on the last weekend of the ski season. My wife and I just hung out at the ski lodge.

Our primary factor was cost so we were prepared for some inconveniences when we found a unit available for a cheap price.

From the other reviews here, it's evident that your experience will vary GREATLY dependent upon which room you end up with. Ours was in generally good shape with new appliances and everything worked. The views were superb.

HOWEVER, be prepared for long walks from the parking lots and plenty of stairs. The exteriors of all the units show much wear with peeling paint, mended railings and worn walkway carpet being the norm.
We got what we expected and were lucky enough to be assigned a nice unit, so be sure to ask to see it first.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tennbidder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed at The Pinnacle Inn for the President's Day ski weekend. This is our second time at this hotel, and once again, completely happy. This place has great amenities - heated pool, two saunas, that I know from past use are great. The room is great - one or two private bedrooms, plenty of storage space - but no skis/boots are allowed inside, i think We left ours in the car overnight-no biggie-didn't want to carry them any further, anyway! Full kitchen, plenty of lounge space, a wood burning fireplace...it's the perfect place to come home to after a full day of skiing! Plus, only a mile and a half from the slopes - take the shuttle the pinnacle provides or drive yourself-if its a slow ski weekend! Parking lots get full...

So, you can either call and reserve a room, or pick yours out online - scroll thru pages of options - choose mountain view, one or two bedrooms, and then just pick the decor you want! I loved the one we got this time around - we went with the online option, had a great view of the mountain, and two TVs too!

Check out was easy-just don't lose your keys. Make sure to read the fine print prior to arrival. The rooms should have toilet paper, dish washing soap, etc, but it is the previous occupants responsibility to supply; not the hotels. Basically, you're going into a furnished house-treat it as your own, bring basic toiletries (Fred's general store is a 3 minute drive away and will have all your basic needs if you get there and something is missing). And call up to the front desk with problems you can't live with right now - they are super helpful. And out of respect for future tenants, go ahead and report any issues with the room as you check out. It's a great hotel; I hope to be staying here for years to come. Happy Skiing!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NC-BI-Love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Was a little skeptical about staying here at first because of some of the bad reviews but i am so glad i ignored them. We stayed in an incredible 2 bed 2 bath condo with a fireplace and ski slope view. The condo was clean and so homey we didnt want to leave. The amenities at this place are fantastic. The pool and hot tubs were great and i loved that they have a dvd rental kiosk on site.

The staff was so nice and answered any questions that we had.

I would recommend going online and picking which condo you like because they are all different.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borisgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beech Mountain
2.7 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
11.5 mi away
Greene's Motel
Greene's Motel
#15 of 18 in Boone
70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons at Beech
Four Seasons at Beech
#2 of 2 in Beech Mountain
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beech Alpen Inn
Beech Alpen Inn
#1 of 2 in Beech Mountain
42 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cedar Village
Cedar Village
#2 of 2 in Beech Mountain
9 reviews
0.5 mi away
Archer's Mountain Inn
Archer's Mountain Inn
#7 of 9 in Banner Elk
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pinnacle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pinnacle Inn

Property: The Pinnacle Inn
Address: 301 Pinnacle Inn Rd, Beech Mountain, NC 28604-7478
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Beech Mountain
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beech Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pinnacle Inn Resort is centered in the northwestern part of North Carolina in the beautiful High Country area. Located in eastern America's highest resort community, Beech Mountain, with unparalleled scenery and abundance of activities make for an exceptional vacation experience. The Pinnacle Inn Resort is a year round resort property with suites as well as one and two bedroom condominiums. All are complete with full kitchens, cozy living rooms, fireplaces, cable TV, and telephone (some with washer/dryer). All of our condominiums are privately owned so they are individual in taste and style. Our All Seasons Center offers an indoor heated pool, two indoor hot tubs, steam room, dry sauna, exercise room, recreation area (including ping pong, pool table, electronic games and more). For your convenience we also have an on-site laundry room. On our spacious grounds are two tennis courts, miniature golf, shuffleboard and playground. For small business meetings, retreats or groups we have a centrally located meeting room and we can provide fax and copy services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Pinnacle Hotel Beech Mountain
Pinnacle Hotel Beech Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing