We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Getaway for Thanksgiving Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beech Alpen Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beech Alpen Inn
Vienna, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Getaway for Thanksgiving Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great place stay and enjoy the breath taking views. The staff and owner are wonderfull they really make you feel like family. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The restuarant had a great Thanksgiving Dinner.

Room Tip: Get the Mountainview room with the fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holly Springs, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here Dec 29, 2012 - Jan 1, 2013 and had a wonderful time! We stayed in a slopeview room with a balcony which gave us a great view of the slopes both during the day and at night (and even a view of the Sugar Mountain NYE fireworks!). This inn is very clean and quiet with a rustic mountain lodge feel. We had dinner at the restaurant 2 nights during our stay and the food was absolutely fantastic both times! The only downside is that the restaurant/bar closes at 10pm each night (and even on NYE), but this seems pretty typical for the area. We will definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: I believe there are only 4 slopeview rooms which are all located in the "strip" over the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed Dec 23-24-25, 2012. Reserved the second floor corner, king, mountain view, fireplace, balcony room #121, excellent room on the opposite end of the inn from the bar and restaurant. Felt like we were the only guests. Clean and big room serviced daily with small balcony, flat screen tv, medium fridge, microwave. Continental breakfast was included and had basic cereals, bagels, pastries, and juice/coffee. Steve is a whirlwind and has it all under control. Had Christmas dinner in the restaurant, same special $29 menu as Thanksgiving - salad, soup, dessert + entree of ham, turkey, + 2 sides - nice portions and tasty. The wife had Trout + 2 sides and enjoyed it as well but without the included s/s/d. Total for both was $62 including 2 beers!! As example, paid $57 by beech mountain entrance at Fraziers for cheese fries, cheeseburger, 2 beers and 4 Irish coffees!! Shop at Food Lion 5 minutes from Banner Elk near Sugar Mountain for groceries, Fred's looked overpriced. Room price was average - $119 Sunday / $179 xmas eve + $179 xmas + tax. Took road trips as there was no fresh snow and everything is within 30-45 minutes it seems. Bullwinkles sport bar/pizza place is about 200 ft down the road and friendly locals are found there as well. This will be our first choice in the future if we return to the area, but gotta have room 121. While driving, the only other place in the area that looked like a real decent stay was the Perry house B&B, otherwise there is always the Best Western Plus (haha).

Room Tip: Room #121 - corner, king, mountain view, fireplace, balcony, second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amazingdelivery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband, brother and I were attending the USA National Mountainbike race and we pleasantly surprised with the hotel. It's an older hotel, little musty, but large rooms and Steve and the staff were truly helpful. On Sunday night after the event, it was a wonderful surprise with a great view on the huge lawn, music and vocals. It happens every Sunday night, family, friends, dogs and more. They serve drinks, pizza, burgers on the lawn as well and it goes right into the evening. It reminds you of the old movies when small towns, communities would come together and just start dancing in the grass and listening to the music with a glass or two and remember how beautiful the mountains are. A delightful night so unexpected.

Room Tip: You have to stop at Fred Mercantile - if they don't have it, they'll get it for you! Fun pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casmkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banner Elk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Two of us ate dinner at the restaurant in July. Charlie, our waiter, was pleasant and we truly enjoyed talking with him. We arrived around 6 pm, seated right away and ordered drinks which were OK. We walked outside and checked out the grounds and view, which are outstanding. We both ordered filet mignon and baked potatoes. About 40 minutes later the meal arrived. The steaks were good but what surprised us was the butter and sour cream came in pre packaged plastic cups! My husband and I both felt that was a little cheesy when paired with a $32 filet! Two martinis, two soft drinks, and our bill was $96.00 and we tipped 20%, so it wasn't cheap. With a few little improvements, this place could be great!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColumbusOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

My husband and I have been staying here for the spring NASCAR race for at least eight years. The rooms are comfy and clean, but fixtures are outdated. The rooms have new flat screen televisions. The bar is nice for drinks and chatting with the locals. It's nice returning to a place where the owner remembers his customers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cats57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

We had a really enjoyable July weekend at Beech Alpen Inn. My husband was needing some time away from the heat and humidity of summer, and the Beech Alpen Inn did not disappoint - highs in the 70s during the day and quite comfortable at night. We didn't even need to use air conditioning (though there was an air conditioner in the room)! Check-in was easy, and we liked our room. It was a large end room with fireplace (which we actually used on a July evening. Wow!). The decor was fine - nothing fancy, but hey - this is a casual mountain inn so we weren't expecting fancy. We had all the
necessities - soap, shampoo, conditioner, even bath gel and coffee maker and decent tv. And we even had a microwave and small refrigerator in the room. It made for a very comfortable room, and the nice big window with mountain view was a real treat. On one night, there was even a wonderful bluegrass band playing out on the back lawn - how great it that?!? We had the continental breakfast one morning (bagels, muffins, danishes, coffee, etc.) and had dinner both nights at the restaurant. Our server was Amanda, and she was just wonderful - personable and friendly! We were delighted to eat out on the patio both nights. The food was quite good . My husband loved the
peppercorn steak so much that he had it both nights. I had chicken marsala one night and pasta florentine the next. Meals were served with nice rolls (that appeared homemade). There also was a good dessert selection, and I especially enjoyed the brownie sundae. The Beech Alpen Inn offered us a great summer getaway, with cooler temps and beautiful mountain views and a nice value in the summer. It's not fancy, but it's not supposed to be. We really enjoyed the Beech Alpen Inn!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with fireplace and mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auburn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beech Mountain
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
11.3 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#7 of 18 in Boone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
11.6 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
11.9 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.8 mi away
Archer's Mountain Inn
Archer's Mountain Inn
#7 of 9 in Banner Elk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Alpen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Alpen Inn

Property: Beech Alpen Inn
Address: 700 Beech Mountain Pkwy, Beech Mountain, NC 28604-8015
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Beech Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Beech Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beech Alpen Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beech Alpen Inn with Alpen Restaurant & Bar is located on top of Beech Mountain, North Carolina. “It is better at the top!” Winters, the clear skies, the snow, the views and the walking distance to the ski slopes make the mountain life better at the top. Summers, you can escape the smoldering heat of the valleys and breath the fresh mountain air. In fall the colorful leaf season is absolutely breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Beech Alpen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Alpen Hotel Beech Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing