We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Review Highlights
1st ride

It was a really nice and exciting ride, for the first hour it sprinkled and sun shine on us, then... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
quilter0810
,
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Fantastic!

We are extremely happy with our experience. The crew are very professional, knowledgeable and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Joyce C
Read all 812 reviews
  
Reviews (812)
Filter reviews
812 results
Traveler rating
745
51
6
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
745
51
6
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cape lookout shackleford banks captain andy wild horses combo trip beach shuttle great trip ocean side return trip day trip ticket booth light house smaller boat conch shells saw dolphins low tide two hours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 812 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We took the island ferry to the Cape Lookout lighthouse. The captain and crew were great, even letting the kids “ drive“ the boat. They are on schedule, inexpensive, and a great way to have a nice boat ride over to the Cape.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank 372jl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, Owner at Island Express Ferry Service, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for sailing with us. We are so glad you had an experience to last a lifetime! Thank you for the nice review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

We used the ferry service from Harkers Island to Cape Lookout and Shackleford Banks. There is a minimum amount of passengers required to run the ferry, and I encourage making reservations. Our captain and crew were amazing! Also, keep an eye on the weather! If the weather is producing small craft advisories, the ferry may not be running until those are lifted. Well worth the money and time!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank 353lydiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, Owner at Island Express Ferry Service, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review. I am very happy you got to experience the COMBO trip, the best of both. Great advice on the weather. We always post any cancellations on our website and FB page. We look forward to having you back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2019

We took the Harker's Island Ferry to Shackleford and Cape Lookout spending two hours at each. The ferry was on time and the ferry staff were friendly, informative, and made sure each passenger was accounted for. Our time on the ferry as well as the islands were so relaxing. We will definitely do it again.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Blflora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, Owner at Island Express Ferry Service, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for such a nice review. I am very happy you got to experience both islands with our COMBO trip and we look forward to having you back with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019

Friends came in from Iowa and it was a memory of a lifetime. We stayed on Shackleford Island for 2 hours and Cape Lookout for 2 as well. The lighthouse was not open but talking to the keepers we got a lot of history on it. The beach had surfers and they were fun to watch. We missed out first boat back because we wanted to stay longer. No problem taking a different time slot. The Captain and First Mate did everything they could to be safe. Always watch your step, keep your arms in when docking and even showed us where the life jackets were. They even waited a bit to pick up the last couple as no one is left behind especially on the last trip of the day. Thank you so much for the great trip.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Worthitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, Owner at Island Express Ferry Service, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2019

That is our goal, to make it an experience of a lifetime! We are go glad you had that experience! We hope you will come back for another visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019

The staff sighted dolphins in front of the ferry and spent lots of time slowing the boat, steering so we could all watch the pod happily swimming around the boat - even though we were the latest and last trip back and I'm sure they were eager to go home to a warm dinner and home. This is the same friendly, consistent service with other trips we've made with them. They truly love what they do and they love making even a short ferry ride a memorable adventure for their passengers.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank cmore380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, Owner at Island Express Ferry Service, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

How exciting you got to see the dolphin! We are so glad they swam with the boat and could enjoy them. Our crew strives to exceed expectations. Every ferry ride should be an experience of a lifetime! Thank you for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews