We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME SOFT SHELL CRAB”

Front Street Grill at Stillwater
Ranked #4 of 38 Restaurants in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Lake Norman, NC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“AWESOME SOFT SHELL CRAB”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

My wife and I had lunch there today. I ordered the special of the day which was a soft shell crab on a fresh baked bun. This was absolutely the best soft shell crab that I have ever had and I have had many. Lightly battered and fried to perfection. My wife had another special and loved hers too. Our friend had the same as I had and she is a soft shell fan too and she raved about it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank opaljack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    140
    43
    27
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“View!!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Place is so nice that the local historical society was hosting a group from Nat Geographic, consequently, it was pretty loud. However, the service, food and staff made it fun.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank hikerws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Go for a great view and really good food”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We picked the Front Street Grill because we wanted to eat on the water's edge in downtown Beaufort and enjoy the view -- plus it had good reviews on here. What a nice set up outside --it's not a large area, but perfect for having options to be in the sun or not. We saw the horses on Carrot Island and the boats/kayakers on Taylor's Creek (the main waterway that Beaufort sits on). It has that ambiance we were looking for -- the wood decking, the umbrella tables, and boat dockage available for guests.

The service was good. The food was tasty and they offered a good variety for the typical cost for the area -- the Jamaican Jerk Wings were the stand out. The Shrimp and Grits were very good and so were the Blackened Tuna Tacos (the tacos were wetter than we've had before -- somewhat messy to eat, but still very good).

They take reservations (even for only 4) which is a big plus given many restaurants have you waiting over an hour during high season. Our hotel told us making reservations ahead of time during our trip weren't necessary, but if you have kids or don't want to wait a long time, I would make them.

Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flyinggreenshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Carteret, North Carolina
Level Contributor
219 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Newer Classic Harbor View Restaurant”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

One of the newer restaurant's in this historic town. Very clean, fresh and modern with great views through big windows of the harbor.
Competitive prices and menu for seaside restaurants in the area.
Not a very large restaurant but they did not cram the tables together so it felt very comfortable. We visited for lunch mid-day, mid week and were seated quickly. Service was quick and friendly.
Sandwiches and salad were tasty but seemed a little short on quantity. Same with the glasses for red wine seemed small even next to the sandwiches.
Overall we enjoyed our visit and will be going back in the future.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harold J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Rhum Bar”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

This is a perfect spot to relax, unwind and enjoy a great view. Service was wonderful and the drinks and apps were excellent. Very comfortable seating on the deck by the waster watching the sun set, wild horses, and porpoises as boats returned at the end of the day.

There are many other bars and cafés along the boardwalk, easy to find and wander in to. The Rhum Bar is harder to find but worth the effort!

Helpful?
1 Thank BlueHorizons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Front Street Grill at Stillwater also viewed

Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Front Street Grill at Stillwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing