We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scallops and Crab Cake Sandwiches” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boardwalk Cafe / Soda Fountain - CLOSED

Boardwalk Cafe / Soda Fountain
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Scallops and Crab Cake Sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had lunch on the patio by the waterfront. The tables and chairs were not fancy. It was about $25.00 for a crab cake sandwich, a large one, and some of the best scallops I have ever eaten. French fries, cole slaw, and tea were served with the lunch entrees. I was full and very satisfied with the meal. The scallops were about quarter sized and fried lightly to a golden brown. Our server was attentive and punctual with whatever we needed. We would love to try every item on the menu, although impossible to do. There was a breakfast menu but it was not served after 11AM.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mefohiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    50
    12
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a wonderful breakfast here - omelets - very yummy. And biscuits - true Southern biscuits - yum. The view was very nice too - make sure you sit in the back towards the water or outside. Lots to see as boaters come and go. Could glimpse the horses too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank suemidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The food was fine but slightly overpriced. There were way too many flies and dirty tables inside. They had a good selection of lunch and breakfast items.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KatieLulu80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Va
Level Contributor
117 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“"Great Lunch with excellent service"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We live less than 2 hours from Beaufort so we go there a lot and have never eaten here. Now if you see my review of "AQUA" that is the best restaurant in the area. Maybe in the entire state but its open only for dinner.
But we had a great lunch here. I had a crab and shrimp wrap with chips and my husband had a fried flounder sandwich with ice tea the cost was $24.00.
They have lots of outside seating but even though it was a Tuesday after a Monday Holiday the outside seating was full so we stayed inside and the waitress was very good and even filled our ice tea and gave us a to go cup for the rest of the ice tea.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nevilledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, staff, and location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We ate here 3 times during the Beaufort Pirate Invasion. Staff was great, they were honest when they were running little slow due to the invasion and being so busy before they seated you so you knew what to expect. We ate there twice for lunch and once for dinner. Food was always very good and service was always very accommodating and friendly. Would definitely recommend this place and will eat here again when visiting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nygrl4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boardwalk Cafe / Soda Fountain also viewed

Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing