We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never disappoints” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Spouter Inn

The Spouter Inn
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Waterfront dining in Historic Beaufort, North Carolina. Recently renovated, ahhhmazing views, covered waterfront deck! Bar & Lounge with waterfront views & full menu service. A beautiful setting to relax,enjoy a great meal and true southern hospitality! Serving FRESH LOCAL CARTERET CATCH and CERTIFIED ANGUS BEEF. Our in house BAKERY provides fabulous desserts, breads, special orders and retail/take out service. Dinner reservations recommended and accepted by telephone only. CALL FOR OFF SEASON HOURS
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We visit Beaufort several times a year. This is always our go-to place for dinner. We like to try new places to eat, but we eat here every time we come down. Best crab cakes ever and you cannot beat the desserts - especially the French Silk Pie and the Cobbler. Be sure to get seating on the deck at night -it is worth waiting for if you have to - the view is fantastic. Never had a bad meal or service here. Try it - you'll like it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank c p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    176
    58
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oradell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A favorite waterfront restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Such a charming place with very friendly and accommodating staff. The food is delicious and the desserts are very tasty. It's lovely to sit outside on the covered deck and watch the boats coming and going. They serve an amazing brunch on Sundays. It;s our favorite place to visit in Beaufort, North Carolina

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just right for us!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We really liked the comfortable but slightly upscale atmosphere of this restaurant. The menu had a nice mix of items and broad selecton for different tastes. We had the lump crab cakes and they were delicious. There is a bakery on site and the dessert tray and presentation was wonderful. We were celebrating a 25th wedding anniversary and the staff was very helpful as I had them help with a surprise to my wife by presenting a gift to her in the center of the dessert tray... Enough on that.. I will sum it up by saying that the staff, food and setting were very nice... The only minor (and it is very minor) complaint is that we dined in the inside porch area and it was a little loud at times... I would not let this stop you particularly with a family or larger group. 2 thumbs up!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food with a great view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We came to Beaufort for dinner and decided to try this place out. We were seated on the back deck and enjoyed being right on the water. Everyone in our group absolutely loved the food we got. The 1/2 pound of shrimp was a ton of shrimp and tasted wonderfully! I would recommend this place to anyone comings down to the coast. The service was incredible with everyone, even the bosboy, checking to make sure we had everything we needed. Speedy service too!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kfinch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Crab Legs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

After taking The Crystal Coast tour we ate outside on the deck. Crab legs were done to perfection! Crab cakes were wonderful. No room for any dessert.

Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spouter Inn also viewed

Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Spouter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing