We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner, great waterfront view”
Review of The Spouter Inn

The Spouter Inn
Ranked #3 of 38 Restaurants in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Waterfront dining in Historic Beaufort, North Carolina. Recently renovated, ahhhmazing views, covered waterfront deck! Bar & Lounge with waterfront views & full menu service. A beautiful setting to relax,enjoy a great meal and true southern hospitality! Serving FRESH LOCAL CARTERET CATCH and CERTIFIED ANGUS BEEF. Our in house BAKERY provides fabulous desserts, breads, special orders and retail/take out service. Dinner reservations recommended and accepted by telephone only. CALL FOR OFF SEASON HOURS
Rocky Mount, NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great dinner, great waterfront view”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

My wife and I had dinner at the Spouter Inn on a recent Sunday evening. As usual (we have eaten there on a number of occasions) the service was excellent and the food was great. I always recommend their Clam Chowder, it is fantastic. Their mixed grill was very good, the fish, scallops, and shrimp were done just right, none were overdone. My wife's grouper was just as good, she was very happy with it. All in all it was a very pleasant evening on their deck overlooking Taylor's Creek. We will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    196
    62
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lewisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very disappointed with our meal”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in to have a late lunch after visiting Beaufort while we were on vacation. There were very few people in the restaurant at this time so we were alone in the dining area inside. After the hostess took our drink orders we waited and 2 other servers came to our table and took our orders. That was the best part, after that we were forgotten. When our food came way later it was cold. My burger only had cheese on it nothing else so it went back to the kitchen. Finally when it came back I asked for catsup and waited forever and the server never came back with it. I ate a cold burger and family ate cold soup. When we asked for the check the server said she would be right back to take it and she never came back. After a long time we went looking for her to pay and we complained. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy. I will never go back food was not good.

Helpful?
Thank Luci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin H, Owner at The Spouter Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Lucille,

Thank you very much for your review, we do want to know! I sincerely apologize for the unacceptable dining experience we provided. Sounds like we really blew it!

While there are no acceptable excuses, poor communication during the shift change resulted in very bad service and cold food. Your meal should have been complimentary as we do NOT accept payment when we fail to provide satisfaction.

I will follow up on this in an attempt to find out why and to prevent this from occurring again. Will you PLEASE email me: spouter@thespouterinn.com, tell me your date/ day of the week of visit, and any other details that may assist. Please also include your address as I would like to refund your payment and send you a complimentary gift certificate in hopes that you will try us again. I assure you this is not the norm, we are known for excellent service, hospitality, and food!

Thank you again for your feedback! Please don't give up on The Spouter Inn!

Sincerely,
Robin Held
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great, healthy food!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My family and I had dinner here while enjoying our vacation. We were 4 adults and 2 children. The crab dip appetizer was awesome, the garden salad was so fresh with a great raspberry vinaigrette, and the grilled fresh Mahi was spectacular.
Wait time is a little slow, but not bad. It gave us time to talk about our day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food, spectacular view!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I found this place last summer and love it. The view is spectacular and the food has always been great. Two of our favorites are their crab dip and blackened Mahi Mahi. The service can be a little slow but well worth the wait!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Carteret, North Carolina
Level Contributor
219 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Classic Seaside small town restaurant”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had a group lunch here during mid week prior to July and had a short wait to sit outside overlooking the harbor. We had prompt and friendly service, we each had a different sandwich and we all were pleased with our choice. The fish seemed very fresh and tasty. All the food looked appetizing.
I and my wife tried to go back a couple of weeks later, mid-day, mid week after the 4th of July and found the wait to be 45 minutes for any table. We did not wait.
This is a very popular restaurant, for both the food and the view.
We will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harold J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spouter Inn also viewed

Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Spouter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing