We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Personal Invitation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Salt

Old Salt
Ranked #11 of 38 Restaurants in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Located directly across from the Historical Society. Previous owners called it the Net House.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Personal Invitation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Owner greeted us on the street and invited us in, so we just couldn't pass up a personal invitation. Not only is everything homemade and fresh, but the service was also outstanding. Crab and potato appetizer was heaven, as was the key lime pie for desert. Flounder sandwich was delish and just enough to fill us up. Relaxed atmosphere, nice wine selection and easy walk from harbor. You won't be disappointed if you choose this lovely little spot in Beaufort.

20+ years visiting outer banks from colorado

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carduino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    55
    19
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Really fantastic-- go and enjoy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

I always read reviews and hope for the best-- like those booking.com commercials. Old Salt has that quaint, non-chain feel. The staff was friendly, the food was delicious (even the sweet tea and bread/butter). Food is prepared at the time of ordering-- the owner is a pastry chef and the desserts are wonderful. They were very accomodating with splitting a meal for the kids. In line with the prices of other restaurants-- worth it! We are picky and we loved our dining experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flyinggreenshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Alabama
Level Contributor
129 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Just a cut above”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

After a long day walking around historic Beaufort we were ready to relax and enjoy some sweet tea and a good dinner. We tried the Old Salt for the first time. They had a decent menu and some very interesting specials. I had to try the shrimp and grits, my newfound love. Each of use merited desert as we cleaned our plates.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband, toddler daughter, and I stopped in for an early dinner. We were the first table of the night. The service, food, and prices were all great. We had the crab dip (1/2price apps from 4-6), shrimp burgers and split the pound cake. It was so delicious! Old salt sauce was great as was the homemade ketchup! Staff was so friendly too! Go!!! You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
167 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

A bit disappointed in the lunch menu. Shrimp platter $17, shrimp burger $9 or so. When asked quantity of shrimp for each was told 4-5. Really was looking for a lunch shrimp basket. Appetizer featured was potato skins stuffed with crab dip. It was 4, red potato size skins, stuffed with crab meat not crab dip topped with a little piece of bacon, $10 for 4....rip off. Service was very attentive, helpful and friendly. Our fish sandwich was tasty!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rhjones69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Salt also viewed

Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Old Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing