We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has potential”
Review of Taylor's Creek Grocery - CLOSED

Taylor's Creek Grocery
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Description: Phone 252-838-1495
Restaurant details
Description: Phone 252-838-1495
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Has potential”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This place has potential and with time and what appears to be very good and serious on-site management it should do great. I would not recommend it as a dinner site, but it has a very extensive and well edited deli section where sandwiches are made-to-order. Be sure to try what ever has been listed as a 'sandwich of the day.' With that you'll definitely experience the deli's best.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank alawrencenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great spot, good prices, good food”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Nice little deli with some excellent options. I've eaten there many times and other than the wrap swimming in oily sauce, it's been great! (Don't get the wrap). I recommend the three cheese sandwich. Mostly, it's a small grocery store and they have good, affordable options on bottled wine (though less of a selection than Queen Anne's Revenge across the street). They're new, so maybe they haven't figured out that they're supposed to charge three times as much for the sandwiches, so go now - before they jack it up.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnTheWaterNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs,NC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the visit”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This spot is a tourist trap. The restaurant is noisy and food just so-so besides being quite pricey.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cool dining option”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

It looks like a grocery store on the outside, but inside you'll find a great deli with a nice menu. We got lured in from the menu board out front and were glad we came in. It was a hot summer day and the cafes and restaurants were crowded, here we found a friendly place that offered inside or outside dining. The special that day was a Po Boy sandwich with andouille sausage...awesome! There's something for everyone, even slices of pizza for the kids. You can shop the grocery for side items and a wide drink selection. There are some gift items, toys, sundries and a welcoming staff. We ate outside where there is shade a great breeze from the water. Went back for seconds the next day!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank realhanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A great new addition to Front Street”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Now that it's here, I can't figure out why someone didn't try this sooner.

Beaufort's harbor and historic area are dominated by B&Bs, tourist shops, and restaurants with a seafood theme. The General Store has a few toiletries and Bell's Drug Store has a bit more selection for the B&B guest who forgot to pack their toothpaste. But if the B&B guest or vacationer in a rental house wanted a few basic groceries or snacks on-hand, your choices were to go inland three blocks to a dodgy-looking mini-mart or go a couple of miles inland to the Piggly Wiggly.

Now, thank goodness, there's Taylor's Creek Grocery.

Taylor's Creek Grocery is a combination grocery and deli, open seven days a week from 7am-9pm. They have a good selection of basic groceries, wines and beers, a bit of produce and some gourmet items. They have plenty of snacks and sodas for wandering tourists. They also have a full-service deli that has hot and cold sandwiches, including breakfast biscuits. The clerks were very pleasant every time we visited. The store itself is very inviting with polished wood floors, a selection of souvenirs at the front, and the hand-lettered menu above the deli listing the day's offerings.

The first time, we simply bought a few things for nibbling in between meals at the house we were staying at, since we were eating meals out. The second time, we lunched on delicious hot dogs and a very generous helping of fries, sitting at one of the corner tables in the front of the store. The final time my husband ran down and brought back huge and tasty breakfast biscuits - I had assumed they'd be small and asked for two, which was completely unnecessary.

I hope Taylor's Creek Grocery takes off - I'm already imagining the convenience of being able to hop on a bike and grab some milk within a few minutes rather than drive to the uninspiring local supermarket.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank avidbeader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taylor's Creek Grocery also viewed

Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing