We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Coast Lady Cruises

Crystal Coast Lady Cruises
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: #1 Tour Company - The M/V Crystal Coast Lady is a 100' All Aluminum Motor Yacht that is USCG Certified and inspected for up to 265 Passengers! We have full ABC permits, a galley on each deck, and 4 restrooms on board.Tours run 7 days a week and include: 1/2 Day Family Fishing, Shackleford Banks Wild Pony and Dolphin Scenic Tours, Historic Beaufort Waterfront Cruises, Brunch, Lunch & Sunset Dinner Buffets, Wednesday Wine Tasting Cruises, and Dolphin Watches! We also specialize in unique wedding packages,special events and private charters.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Lovely time seeing the ponies and learning a little NC history! Very friendly crew. Well worth the money. Didn't see any dolphins though.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, Owner at Crystal Coast Lady Cruises, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
We are so glad you had a great time! We look forward to having you aboard again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    18
    10
    9
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We took the family on this tour and it was great. The tours was of the Beufort Harbor and the Morehead City Harbor. The captian seemed very knowledgeable. It is worth the money.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, Owner at Crystal Coast Lady Cruises, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your trip with us! We hope to see you aboard again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A great value for the sunset cruise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I took the sunset dinner cruise on Monday night which includes a southern buffet. The price is slightly over $30 a person that includes all you can eat as well as the 2 hour cruise of the surrounding islands and towns. Good food and great fun! The captain and two mates did all they could to make the trip enjoyable and even allowed the kids to steer the ship. The captain went out of his way for one handicapped boy who had the thrill of his life. This is a "Must Do" when visiting the area!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pszychojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, Owner at Crystal Coast Lady Cruises, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed the cruise. Our captain and crew take great pride in what they do, and having passengers like you make it all the more enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conover, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Complete waste of money.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

My family and I rode on the Fully Narrated Wild Pony and Dolphin Scenic Tour for $20.00 per person. So we spent $80 for our four person family

The brochure made it sound like you would see plenty of wild ponies and dolphins, however we saw two ponies and zero Dolphins. Also we were supposed to see many sightseeing locations like Blackbeards home, and we didn't. Although the boat ride is long we spent most of the time seeing the same thing over again because we would go down a canal and turn around. Everything I saw I had previously seen driving on the road to get there. The boat did not have comfortable seating, and the captain maybe spoke three times total, although he was supposed to tell us about the area. The whole tour was basically seeing people on their private boats riding around, and I felt like I was on the lake.

I was VERY VERY DISAPPOINTED and felt that I wasted a whole day(when I only had three days total) driving to beaufort and waiting for this cruise.

If you are wanting to see historical sites, beautiful views, dolphins, and wild horses, do NOT go on this.

If you are wanting to go on a basic, uncomfortable boat ride with many loud children, go for it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Christy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, Owner at Crystal Coast Lady Cruises, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your trip. In regards to seeing wild horses and dolphins (which are wild animals, and therefore uncontrollable by us), our brochure states that there is "a great chance of seeing Wild Banker Ponies and Bottlenose Dolphins." There are also times when our captain has to adjust his normal route due to other boat traffic. This is a 15 mile round-trip cruise which traverses Taylor's Creek in Beaufort, and travels to Morehead City, as well as the back bays of Beaufort, and we do not take our passengers by the same sights twice, and our captain, who is adored by our customers, has 40 years experience as a captain in the area, and we always get great comments about how informative his narration is. Our vessel has padded chairs and booths for seating, and we have never heard a complaint about uncomfortable seating before. Finally, we do advertise that our cruises are great for all ages, so the fact that there were many children on the boat during your cruise is a comment we are glad to hear. Again, we are sorry you felt this way about your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
“Bait and Switch”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Today we reserved tickets for 2 adults and 2 children (10 and 8) for the 4PM Pony and Dolphin tour. We were told all was well as they processed our credit card. We arrived 30 minutes before boarding and were informed that the big boat was reserved today for a wedding and the 4PM Pony and Dolphin Tour would be on a Ferry Boat with no restrooms, drinks, or accommodations of any kind. We were offered a refund. After driving 45 minutes and 2 children looking forward to ponies and dolphins we said we would be OK with the small boat. We had to find public restrooms before we left, and thank goodness we brought drinks. The boat captain's voice was so raspy that no one could understand him and he did not have any good history or information to offer. He did show us where Blackbeard supposedly lived if we could peek through trees to find his chimney. We saw a total of 2 horses and NO dolphins. One of the most disappointing hour and a half of our lives...children were bored after 15 minutes. Be sure to check with the person answering the phone to see if a wedding is planned...Like they did not know there was a wedding the same day we made our reservation???? Bait and switch - no discount off tickets!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ralph21l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, Owner at Crystal Coast Lady Cruises, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
We are sorry you did not enjoy your trip. When special arrangements have to be made we do attempt to contact all of our affected reservations, but were unable to reach you to let you know of the change in vessel. We have no control over how visible Blackbeard's house may or may not be from the water, and we also have no control over the wild animals, although we do pass by Carrot Island where the wild ponies are often visible, and traverse the waterways where dolphins are also spotted quite often. Again, we are sorry you did not enjoy your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Coast Lady Cruises also viewed

Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Crystal Coast Lady Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing