We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunset Dinner Cruise” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Coast Lady Cruises

Crystal Coast Lady Cruises
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: #1 Tour Company - The M/V Crystal Coast Lady is a 100' All Aluminum Motor Yacht that is USCG Certified and inspected for up to 265 Passengers! We have full ABC permits, a galley on each deck, and 4 restrooms on board.Tours run 7 days a week and include: 1/2 Day Family Fishing, Shackleford Banks Wild Pony and Dolphin Scenic Tours, Historic Beaufort Waterfront Cruises, Brunch, Lunch & Sunset Dinner Buffets, Wednesday Wine Tasting Cruises, and Dolphin Watches! We also specialize in unique wedding packages,special events and private charters.
New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Sunset Dinner Cruise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I and two friends went on the dinner cruise Pirate Weekend. The boat was comfortable and the cruising part was nice. However, the dinner was not very tasty and most of it was cold or just warm. It also took a long time to serve everyone. The captain attempted to give a narrated tour but there was problems with the audio (at least on the lower deck) and we could understand very little because it kept breaking up. Being a very warm evening it was comfortable sitting outside. There also seemed to be a lot of confusion getting the food onboard while passengers were unloading from the pirate ship which returned to dock at the same time. We were a little disappointed overall.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    18
    10
    9
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cool Cruise on the Crystal Coast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I highly recommend this cruise ( Pony & Dolphin Lunch Cruise) . The boat is very large, comfortable and is covered. The crew is very friendly. The Capt. invites passengers into the cabin to talk and steer the boat. The Capt. knows a lot of history about the area especially all things Blackbeard. The lunch was plentiful - sdws and salads. The cruise takes you past the waterfront areas of Beaufort and Morehead City and the towns/shorelines look a lot different from the water. We did not see any ponies or dolphins but to be fair there were numerous people/boats in the area on a pretty Saturday so maybe the crowds discourage them from appearing. After the cruise we went in search of Blackbeard's house on foot ( Capt. gave us directions) and upon our return to the car we saw 2 ponies in clear view.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LillyKate3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Shackleford Lady shuttle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Took my family on the Shackleford Lady (a pontoon boat) to Shackleford Banks. Cost was $15 per person. Takes about 2 hours total with 30 minutes to the island, 1 hour on the island, and 30 minutes back. This was more of a shuttle than a site seeing tour so be forewarned. The captain was very nice, but there wasn't a whole lot of information about the area communicated. If you want to see the ponies and do some shelling and that's about it then this is perfect for you. If you are wanting to ride a boat around and get lots of information and sightseeing, try something else. We DID get to see the ponies and get pictures close up (they aren't afraid of the people) but the island is huge so if they didn't happen to be on that side of the island I can see possibly not seeing them at all. However, the shelling was pretty amazing. We got a couple really large Conch Shells in beautiful condition and it's really beautiful out there. The boat is nice and stable, but you do get bounced around for a little of the trip as you pass by the open inlet to the ocean but generally it was pretty tame.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gumbo8771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, Owner at Crystal Coast Lady Cruises, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you very much for riding with us. The Shack Lady trip is not a tour the tour is on the Crystal Coast Lady. The Shack Express is a trip over to the island and then back. I am sorry if you thought that it was a tour. It is the largest boat to bring you over to Shack, we stay with you and then bring you back.Thank you again for riding with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great cruise, even if the dolphins forget to come”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The staff is very engaging. The ship is well maintained. When you first board, you go to the second level and find seats around tables. Not the most promising beginning, but as soon as the ship launches, many folks went back down to stand around on the first level. There is plenty of seating and viewing room. There is a snack bar on the first level, so soda, water, and typical vending machine food is available. Unfortunately on our cruise, no dolphins or ponies were in evidence. The grandkids loved the cruise, even without the wildlife, and we all got a narrated trip around the coast.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank streetcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Misleading !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Here's a straight up honest review, you take it for what it's worth !

We just finished taking the Fully Narrated Wild Pony and Dolphin Scenic Tour for $40.00.

In the brochure your thinking you will see plenty of Ponies and Dolphins, however we seen 2 ponies and No Dolphins ! What we did see was old fishing vessels and a view of some local towns from the water view, you can see the same thing from walking along the water !

The deckhand told us they have not seen any dolphins for the last 16 days .... So why not post a card at the ticket counter alerting people to this ? We seen large families with small kids waiting to see dolphins and nothing, if a sign was posted then maybe those families would have saved some serious money!

We got the number for the gentleman who owns it and called quickly, he would not let you get a word in edge wise !

All I can say is you be the judge, spend $20 a person or use it somewhere else .... Never again !

Place a disclaimer on your brochure !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, Owner at Crystal Coast Lady Cruises, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
On these trips we never state or try to mislead the thousands of passengers we carry as you can see by other reports. This trip is a fully narrated 15 mile tour which goes through the town of Beaufort and Morehead City seeing them from the water.We pass By the state port which can only be seen from the water This is the only tour on the water that travels this far and shows as many sights. Captain Farmer has been narrating tours for over 25 years and knows more local knowledge than most. One of the sights we go by is the old Menhaden plant on Phillips Island which can only be seen by boat. I am sorry that this group unlike many hundreds if not thousands of passengers did not appreciate the local beauty and scenery including the "old fishing boats" which are actually in existence fishing and supporting local families.I also spoke to the deckhand and he stated that he had said that we saw dolphins a few trips back and the dolphins sightings had been scarce but never stated that we had not seen them in 16 trips. I am sorry you did not enjoy the beauty and serenity of Beaufort along with the hospitality of The Crystal Coast Lady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Coast Lady Cruises also viewed

Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Crystal Coast Lady Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing