We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love The Dockhouse & It's Pet Friendly”
Review of The Dock House

The Dock House
Ranked #25 of 38 Restaurants in Beaufort
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Love The Dockhouse & It's Pet Friendly”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We have been driving 1 1/2 hrs. down to the Dockhouse for 8 yrs. The most relaxing outdoor restaurant to sit with your s/o and your dog to have lunch, a sunset dinner & inexpensive drinks & to be able to have a cigarette without worrying about unwanted stares.

Rose has been our server many times and she is very pleasant, effecient and even gives the dogs ice cubes as treats & water in a dog bowl. This past Sunday there was a gorgeous breeze blowing, as we sat eating drunkin' peel & eat shrimp (the dog too), a large portion of Nachos & beer. We spent a couple of hours just watching the boats come in and people walking. A very inexpensive afternoon (under $30 with the tip) & quite an enjoyable afternoon.

If you are looking for a no frills place with very pleasant people & inexpensive food and drinks the Dockhouse is the place to go.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kelsie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    70
    57
    28
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
146 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great place for a drink and people watching”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stopped in here a couple of times just for a drink and to watch the world go by - it's the perfect spot for it!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrittlePeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
269 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic Happy Hour”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We ate on the deck enjoying great food and drink during their happy hour. Service was friendly and the appetizers were awesome. Did I mention the price. What a way enjoy the water, eat to your full and save a bunch of money.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible Experience!!!”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This restaurant was not the high light of our vacation by far. We had a party of nine and came in around 5 on a week day. It wasn't very busy at all. We finally found someone who told us to have a seat where ever we wanted. So we decided to go upstairs for the view, which is beautiful. After about 10 mins. our waitress came to get our drank order and about 10 mins. later brought our drinks and took our order. About 15 mins later we placed our order from the pitiful variety on the menu. 45 mins. to an hour later we finally get our food which the majority of which was cold. Never did we get an update or a drink refill and our waitress was no where to be found. The food was mediocre. The service was pitiful. If the menu states there will be 18% gratuity added to tables of 6 or more you should receive the service to go with that. Our party also had 4 children under the age of 8. This restaurant had no high chairs or booster seats. We ask to speak to the manager about the gratuity and our bad experience. We were told that no one at the restaurant could help us and the owner was on his way and he would be there in 3 minutes. What a joke! We waited and waited. He finally gets there in his fine time and tells us he knows this young lady well and she gives great service and our bills would not change . We told him we intended to leave a tip just not one as large as was calculated on our bills. He was rude over, and over, and over. So how many negatives can I say for this restaurant? Loads!!! The only nice thing was the view!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondie4660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not impressed at all.”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This place will inevitably stay in business due to location, but I had one bad meal here and that was enough. A friend of mine is allergic to seafood and they put shrimp in her pasta by accident. It was a bit hidden so it could've been a total disaster. She specifically told the server she had a seafood allergy. That is not something to mess with. Also, they have some couches upstairs that are grungy and gross. I figure if that's how they keep house, the kitchen be too sanitary.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank leopardcity14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dock House also viewed

Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Dock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing