We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to chill”
Review of Backstreet Pub

Backstreet Pub
Ranked #15 of 38 Restaurants in Beaufort
Cuisines: American
Description: Pub with beer and wine. Food options are limited to snack size chips and popcorn.
Restaurant details
Description: Pub with beer and wine. Food options are limited to snack size chips and popcorn.
Newport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun place to chill”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Great music and large beer selection. Take a few friends or meet some really cool locals. Very friendly place!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NCCoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    22
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franconia, Virginia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Quaint old bar.”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Seems like it's been there a long time but I wouldn't quite call it a dive bar though it was locally. Bartenders were decent but when they thought I was going to try and pay with a CC, they kind of jumped at me a bit about it being cash only but I kind of thought that might be the cash so I was quick with the $20. Maybe they have people getting in their face about it so they are a little defensive.

Seating around the edge of the bar are high and built into the wall. Kind of cool because some people can sit and others can stand and all be at eye level. I'm a stander so I liked this system. Had an old nautical look.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigMo_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A fun place to hangout”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

A place for locals. Small inside and wonderful outside patio. A nice place to relax and enjoy an adult beverage.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank imyours12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everybody needs to visit at least 1 dive bar.”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

If you are ready for a change from brass and fern bars and want to see some local 2 legged salty dogs, this is your place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank hikerws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great place to mingle with locals”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Don't expect fancy, just a bar with concrete floors, but a great place to mingle with the friendly locals. Bartender was pleasant, efficient with good sense of humor. Beer was cold and cheap. Great place to watch the World Cup semi-finals between Brazil and Germany. Didn't have any food, but would we stop by again, a definite - YES!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 02TravelBugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backstreet Pub also viewed

Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Backstreet Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing