We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clueless bartender, weird food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queen Anne's Revenge

Queen Anne's Revenge
Ranked #15 of 38 Restaurants in Beaufort
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
135 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Clueless bartender, weird food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We gave them two chances over the weekend and both were horrid. Late dinner one evening put us outside on the patio with music. Little did we know that EVERYONE smokes out there. No escaping it, either. Yeck. The "salad" trio that I had was so salty that I sent it back, describing the chicken salad as inedible. Whew. My husband liked his grouper, though. Next night, I decided to have an open mind and try it since I wanted a salad. Had to sit at the bar and wait because it was obvious the wait staff was in turmoil. Ordered a margarita when I saw the bartender give the next person a very generous shot of tequila in his. Mine, however, was crazy sweet and short on tequila. When I asked for a lime, he seemed puzzled. Yes... limes are traditional and it surely needed it. Finally got the table and ordered the grouper "taco salad." The greens weren't washed and the grouper had carraway seeds on it. Carraway belongs in rye bread, NOT a taco salad. And, a little side of sour cream doesn't qualify the dish as Mexican food, you guys. Just pathetic. I hesitate to give such horrible reviews but this one was so overwhelmingly horrible I just couldn't let it go by. They need to do some serious overhauling of the menu and their wait staff training.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ColoLura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    92
    43
    24
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Virginia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“The icing on the cake for a romantic evening!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Went to QAR on Friday May 11th for a late evening dinner...had never been to Beaufort.. found it while walking the waterfront.. As soon as my wife and I saw the place, we agreed that this was IT!
Well, it was full, with only one table left outside, right next to the guy who was sing there that evening. The sun was going down over the water,too!
We ordered the 'mixed grill" that had Mahi, Shrimp, crab cake, veggies and Saffron rice.
WOOOHOOO!! And what a GREAT atmosphere..listening to GREAT live music, eating GREAT food for only about $20 a piece? How could ANYONE complain? And after that, a wonderful walk around that lovely town!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drdave57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Another great lunch at QAR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

This time we had the pizza that we've heard so much about. It was really good. They did make a mistake and put feta cheese on it and that's one of the few things my husband doesn't eat. He ate it anyway and still thought the pizza was good. In exchange for their mistake, they made us a new pizza without feta for us to bring home at no charge.
The service was excellent as always and I had a yummy ale with the pizza and a delicious salad. Mike had the french onion soup and said it was very good.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iriskitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great spot on the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great selection of beers and wines - and pleasant but not brilliant food

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sinabada55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We went for lunch with our 3 boys. The snapper was great, clam chowder had delicious chunks of clam. My son had the soft shell sandwich, which he loved. Another son had the black bean soup, which I finished because it was so tasty. Our server, Jacqueline, was great. She checked on us often and was friendly. We sat outside by the water, which was beautiful. I had the special, a grilled cheese with tomato and roast beef was a bit to beefy, but I just pulled the meat off and it was good.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jbzielinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen Anne's Revenge also viewed

Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Queen Anne's Revenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing