We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect an average meal here!”
Review of Aqua Restaurant

Aqua Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Aqua Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Our menu is created to bring you the freshest seasonal items available presented with a creative touch. Aqua’s small plates offer you an exciting array of tastes in ‘just right” portions ideal for passing around the table or enjoying two or three as a full meal. Aqua’s Big Plates feature "North Carolina seafood served stylishly" with the freshest local seafood and Choice Beef Filet, as well as local produce when it’s seasonally available. Aqua prides itself on offering fresh, local products and supporting our local fisherman and farmers.
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
370 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Don't expect an average meal here!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We had a fun and pleasant experience on the screened in porch at Aqua. Although the restaurant was having some issues in the kitchen as well as with service on the night we dined there, luckily, we were not in a rush and we were having fun.

Things that were excellent at our table: tomato pie appetizer, Salter Path fresh shrimp with kale & black beans, cast iron seared crab cake, cobia (while it lasted), creme brûlée dessert (large enough for at least three people)

Things that were good but not fantastic: cocktails/mixed drinks, chocolate espresso bundt cake

Three people at our table ordered the cobia special, but it ran out after one entree was filled. It was very disappointing but it happens sometimes.

We would return to Aqua. The atmosphere is fun and the service is friendly and professional.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KelekeWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    55
    18
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We loved Aqua. We are foodies and love to try new restaurants. The meal was truly flawless. Our family of 3 (mom, dad, 8 year old) had a reservation, and were seated promptly. We requested to sit in the screened in porch area, and were accommodated. We were served a taster of gazpacho and bread - delicious! Our salads were great, our small plates were interesting and flavorful, and the desserts were not only delicious, but extremely generous in portion size. The wine menu was good. There was a children's menu, although our son did not order off of it. I would highly recommend this beautiful little gem in Beaufort, and will definitely return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank sondwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
145 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Aqua didn't quite meet expectations. Maybe an off night?”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

OK, first lets say that the service was pretty good. Our server was great but some of the staff weren't that friendly (a little pretentious for what this place really is). The small plates were indeed very small (smaller than described by the server in my opinion) and not that special. Overall I think the food is pretty good but slightly overpriced. I would probably try them again next year...it seems to have potential...may have been an off night.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice Experience”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had dinner here on a Friday night, May 30th. We didn't have a reservation and think we got there just in time because the place really got full in a hurry. The food, service, and decor were wonderful. Our booth was the closest one to the front door, and although it was pretty loud there, it was a great people watching perch. Lots of colorful characters were coming and going from the bar. We assumed they were mostly locals as they all seemed to know each other. I had the special that night. It was a type of fish that I had never heard of "coby?" Anyway, whatever it was called, it was a delicious white flaky fish served over cabbage with a pineapple salsa on top. Very yummy. The sailboat tour captain we had on Sunday told us that they only catch that kind of fish a few weeks out of the year. The waiter started us off with a sampler of a black eyed pea relish similar to what we call Texas Caviar (he may have called it North Carolina caviar). They have several drink specials on certain nights, and although I'm not typically a wine drinker, I think they had a discount on bottles of wine that night. Might explain the locals all flocking to the bar. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wannawrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious! So good we went twice in one weekend!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We decided last minute to head to Beaufort on Memorial Day Weekend. We made a reservation for Friday night at Aqua for 8:15. We arrived to town late afternoon, walked around, and we were hungry by 6:00. We took a chance and stopped in and they were happy to seat us right away. The service is great...the manager is outstanding. She found out this was our first trip to Beaufort and offered suggestions for sights we shouldn't miss. I would recommend the crab cake, the tomato pie, there was a shrimp dish with kale and lentils...honestly you can't go wrong. Saturday night we had a little trouble making a reservation anywhere because it was Memorial weekend. So we popped into Aqua and found a table at their bar...we were super happy with our dinner again. Had the watermelon salad, Caesar salad, crab cake again. We will definitely go back on our next trip to Beaufort!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris082014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqua Restaurant also viewed

Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Aqua Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing