We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Interesting and informative.

Very peaceful and interesting. Pick up the pamphlet when you enter and replace when you leave... read more

Reviewed October 1, 2018
Greg P
,
Florida
Beautiful space to wander

It doesn't take much time to wander through this old cemetary. Find some interesting old names... read more

Reviewed September 12, 2018
Barb J
,
Bellingham, Washington
via mobile
Read all 357 reviews
  
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveler rating
264
77
11
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
77
11
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self guided tour grave sites rum barrel buried here old trees little girl live oaks history buff revolutionary and civil war interesting headstones printed guide step back in time ann street peaceful walk methodist church visitor's center walking tour
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 354 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2018

Very peaceful and interesting. Pick up the pamphlet when you enter and replace when you leave. Fascinating information about the individuals who are buried there. Four of us found it most enjoyable to just meditate and experience the history and surroundings of this area. Well worth a visit.

Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

It doesn't take much time to wander through this old cemetary. Find some interesting old names, admire the old trees, listen to the cicadas. A "must-see" when touring Beaufort.

Thank Barb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

Make sure to get the pamphlet describing who is buried there. It is not a very big cemetery but it is very interesting!

Thank Leila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018

Someone told us about this while we were in Beaufort. We originally weren't planning on going through it, but ended up walking down the street it's on and decided to go in. We were very glad we did. This was a very interesting place and worth going through. So much history. Will go again to spend more time and learn more about the people. Many of the monuments are works of art, not seen anymore.

Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2018

This may the most interesting cemetery I've ever visited. Lot of OLD history, some sad, some strange but all interesting. Located next to Anne Street Methodist Church but kept up by the Town of Beaufort. If you like visiting cemeteries rich with history, I'd suggest this one.

Thank ZaztheOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

While in Beaufort, do visit the Old Burial Ground. Your tour can be self-guided or you can get a paid guide from the BHA. Don't miss the grave of British soldier buried standing up and the young girl buried in a rum barrel.

2  Thank pmm19502018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018

I use to work across the street from this graveyard, and would pass the gates frequently on my breaks...and this graveyard was always cooler and darker than anything around it. This graveyard is historical and it's a great place to visit for the history buff as it is over 300 years old. There are many stories and interesting facts about the people buried there. There is a grave on the edge of the cemetery that consistently has toys placed on it....so you definitely want to hear about that tragic tale! This is also a stopping place on the local ghost walks, but you can visit and walk around during the hours that the gates are open. Definitely well worth the stop!

1  Thank rutheb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

I'm one of those people who really enjoys walking through old cemeteries. For me, the older the better. The Beaufort Old Burying Ground is definitely worth a visit. The cemetery provides a map at the entrance for $1 which is recommended to get the most out of your visit. All the graves of note are clearly marked on the map. The map includes a little bit of info about the deceased in addition to providing the location of their graves.

Walking through this quiet and historic cemetery following the markings on the map provided a nice shady break on a hot day.

1  Thank Nina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2018

We recently visited this site on a school field trip. We had a guided tour that lasted about 45 minutes. The guide was an excellent story teller and kept the kids attention well. I would recommend that you use the tour guide to get the most out of your visit.

3  Thank Greensboroncfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2018

Make sure you go on The Ghost Walk to learn even more about the History in this area! Great for everyone! So much fun!!!

1  Thank AliciaT1453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews