We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beaufort Historic Site Old Burying Ground

Beaufort Historic Site Old Burying Ground
Ranked #2 of 35 things to do in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Forest City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unexpected Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I am not into historic items but this was amazing. I downloaded the guide from their webpage - but you can pick one up at the front gate. It gave a historic tour of the area. The architecture, history, and variety of stories made for a great experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    62
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
254 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Beautiful & very interesting!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I walked by this little cemetery one morning and it wasn't open. I shoved my camera through the wrought iron fence & started snapping pictures. The cemetery is filled with very ornate monuments - the oldest dating back to 1756. With the live oak trees & the wisteria vines, it's incredibly beautiful. A woman driving by stopped her car & asked me if I wanted to go inside. She happily unlocked the gate for me, handed me a "map of interest" which included a walking tour of the burial ground plus some interesting facts about some of the people buried there. It was fascinating! I spent nearly 2 hours meandering through & must have taken 100 photos! I learned quite a bit about Beaufort & its proud sailing history. Definitely worth a stop!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank theresaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Living in death...American History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

A sense of belonging is written in these grounds. Imagine the burials by lantern and torch light under the ancient oaks and wisteria vines. There was no embalming in these ancient days. It was necessary to bury people immediately. Read the tombstones. Indian Massacres, Civil War, Maritime wrecks. Why the saying 'As cold as the night the Crissie Wright came a shore' is still quoted 200 years later. Visit the girl who was buried in a rum keg. Remember her with a token of childhood.Note... the graves facing east so on the day of judgement they faced the sun when they rose... the shape of the headstones resemblance to the gates of heaven.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank darceyvincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best cemetery on the east coast !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am a hobby photographer and cemeteries are one of my favorite places to experiment , this one is my favorite. It well may be the second oldest I've been in as we'll here in the states. There is history as well as entertaining stories connected to this Erie place of rest. I found it to be well worth the time, they even have a map available with information. I also suggest a night ghost tour before hand with local lore , as you cannot go in at night you can return after 9am the next day and see the resting places of those who's stories creeped you out the night before ......

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Smilingeveryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lots of stories here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Worth the guided tour offered during summer months and September for many details not included in the brochure. Docents tell you stories from before the revolution as well as during the civil war. It may seem a strange place to take children, but kids love the stories. It's entertaining history outside for both Yankees and Southerners.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cheeky43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaufort Historic Site Old Burying Ground also viewed

Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Beaufort Historic Site Old Burying Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing