We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating Musuem”

North Carolina Maritime Museum
Ranked #2 of 38 things to do in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Premier museum that has a large collection of boats, models, decoys and dioramas about life in coastal North Carolina.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fascinating Musuem”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have to disclose first that I am not a big maritime type person, I can't really handle boats that well....sea-sickness. But for someone who doesn't enjoy boating or the open seas that much, I can really appreciate the time and attention to detail they put into this museum. It's free to get in, you will need to set-aside about 1-2 hours if you plan on reading and seeing everything. It's not that large, but there is a lot to look at. One of the main attractions is the Blackbeard Pirate section, where they have artifacts from Queen Anne's Revenge on display. This tends to be a lot more crowded section of the museum, so do plan on that. However, the rest of the museum is dedicated, of course, to the history of the maritime which is very prevalent down there. Enjoy walking around and looking at old scale-model boats, historical information on the coast line, and overall a great history lesson on everything maritime.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PackPride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    179
    27
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice Blackbeard Exhibit”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Honestly, I wasn't expecting much from this museum as it had donation admission and it didn't look like a large building from the outside. However, there were lots of great finds inside. There was a lot of information on the Civil War in the area, but my favorite part was in the back, an exhibit on Blackbeard and the Queen Anne's Revenge wreck. It was interesting to see some of the items that they recovered from the wreckage nearby. Don't expect to see pirate treasure, though. Blackbeard's treasure is supposedly still hidden!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, NC
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We really enjoyed the museum although it was a little crowded due to the Pirate Invasion. The exhibits were great and we especially loved the Queen Anne's Revenge artifacts. The kids loved the interactive computers.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank coverton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilas, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Took my 7 year old in to check out the history of the area and I came out amazed. This place is chocked full of neat facts and artifacts. Well worth the walk (due to lack of parking near by).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ckcole82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good History”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went on Pirate Invasion weekend. was a little too crowded to see the museum but did get a good flavor for the exhibits. Seemed well done and informative. Got enough that I would definitely stop in again if in the area

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Carolina Maritime Museum also viewed

 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to North Carolina Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing