We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Carolina Maritime Museum

North Carolina Maritime Museum
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Premier museum that has a large collection of boats, models, decoys and dioramas about life in coastal North Carolina.
Vilas, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Took my 7 year old in to check out the history of the area and I came out amazed. This place is chocked full of neat facts and artifacts. Well worth the walk (due to lack of parking near by).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ckcole82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    163
    25
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
333 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good History”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went on Pirate Invasion weekend. was a little too crowded to see the museum but did get a good flavor for the exhibits. Seemed well done and informative. Got enough that I would definitely stop in again if in the area

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Facinating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I liked that I learned things I didn't even know to wonder about. Being drawn to the history of the Colonial Period, I was especially fascinated by the Blackbeard portion of the exhibit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lizz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Level, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

My family loves a good free museum and this one does not disappoint. There are plenty of exhibits to look at. And the people who work here are amazingly friendly. Go see what they think is the remnants of Blackbeards ship.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jgraves11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We love visiting this museum a couple times a year. It usually takes us an hour or so to go through it. Kids and adults enjoy visiting here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Carolina Maritime Museum also viewed

Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to North Carolina Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing