We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprise for my Marine daughter”

Beaufort Ghost Walk
Ranked #8 of 21 Tours in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a stroll through over 300 years of haunted history in “America’s Best Small Town”! The Beaufort Ghost Walk is a Guided Walking Tour through the Historic District of Beaufort, North Carolina. Founded in 1709, Beaufort is the 3rd oldest town in NC, and the 12th oldest town in North America. On the Ghost Walk, you will be entertained by your Pirate Guides, as they bring history to life when they regale you with an enjoyable assortment of chilling stories, ghost ships haunted houses and interesting histories of the Beaufort area. In addition, you will hear about some of the amazing unexplainable encounters experienced by both our guests and guides during Ghost Walks of the past. All of the stories you will hear have been extensively researched and well documented and, the folklore and legends have been carefully preserved from generations of local storytellers. Returning guests will hear new stories as well as our research uncovers the treasures of the past! As enjoyable as it is entertaining, the Beaufort Ghost Walk is one of Beaufort’s most popular attractions and one that shouldn’t be missed!
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase
West Monroe, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
190 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Surprise for my Marine daughter”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

This was the highlight of my daughters surprise birthday weekend she loves scary movies and everything associated with it and we had a great story telling pirate and we did a lot of walking but enjoyed every moment of this tour! Highly recommend anyone of all ages! A lot of history also!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeDee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    26
    4
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morehead City, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great diversion from the usual fare”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

If you're vacationing in the area or live here, you should do yourself a favor and take a walk on the Beaufort Ghost Walk. My wife and I were desperate for something to do besides laying on the beach. The usual things are checked off the list every time you visit; beach, water, dining, lounging, etc. We called PC Tour Co and spoke to a wonderful lady who set up our reservation over phone. She told us we could visit the website and book our next reservation online so we wouldn't have to call the next time. The tour was easy to find and the guide was very helpful in making sure we had the right tour. The tour guide, who was dressed in remarkably accurate looking pirate garb, was witty and well informed on the history of the area and local ghost tales. We were thoroughly entertained and will definitely be going on some of the other tours offered by PC Tour Co. Port City Pirates & Ghosts looks fun!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS TOUR!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone that would like to learn more about the history of Beaufort. Our pirate guide for the evening was Jacob Finn and he did an excellent job with the storytelling about the life of Blackbeard and other locals. It is approximately a 10 block walk that takes you through Beaufort and past some of the houses that are, to this day, home to some of the people that passed away many years ago. There have been some spirit sightings show up in pictures that have been taken at these homes. We actually took a picture at one of the houses that has long since been abandoned and you can see a spirit on the porch. If you are into ghost stories or you just want to learn more about historic Beaufort, I highly recommend this tour!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane_Strickland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, CT
Level Contributor
344 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The website promises they go out every night all year long, but the night we were in town they said they needed a 10 person minium. My wife and I have been on numerous ghost tours were it was only the two of us. We arranged our trip to take the tour, at least we had a good dinner at Spouter's and a nice room at the Inlet Inn.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank robstainedglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Manager at Beaufort Ghost Walk, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Hello!
Thank you for your interest in our famous ghost walk! We are saddened to hear that we did not reach the minimum for the tour the night you were in town. We hope you can join us next time. Our website does say that we go year-round, as long as we meet our minimum!
Here is the direct quote from the Beaufort Ghost Walk page...
"Reservation details
Reservations are always necessary. Call or Book Online
YEAR ROUND!! This tour will operate year round as long as we can reach a minimum number of guests."
This company is under new management this year and starting this season the minimum for the Beaufort Ghost Walk is only 4 people. In order to keep the price per person fair we must meet this minimum to run the tour. We can offer private tours, please ask about those rates when calling. Reservations are required and we certainly recommend calling before making trip plans to ensure the minimum has been met for the tour, especially before our season fully kicks in around mid-may. Please give us a call next time you are in town and we would love to have you as our guests on the Beaufort Ghost Walk!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun night!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was a great activity to do in the evening! The tour guide was knowledgable and funny! You could also tell he really loved the town of Beaufort! The story of Blackbeard Pirate was very interesting! My boyfriend and I really enjoyed ourselves. Before the tour, we went out to eat at Clawson's, then we explored the many shops. It was a gorgeous area and evening and I would highly recommend spending some time in this town if you are traveling around the area. We were staying in Emerald Isle (which is amazing as well!) right on the beach, and took the time to come out to Beaufort and definitely did not regret it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GoTGeEk827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaufort Ghost Walk also viewed

Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Beaufort Ghost Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing