We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic place in the mountains....”
other travelers have booked this property
Fish in River Right Behind Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fish in River Right Behind Cottage
Front of Cottage with stone work Living Area with leather sectional sofa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Fish in River Right Behind Cottage
Front of Cottage with stone work
Living Area with leather sectional sofa
Open plan living and dining area.  Beautiful heart pine floors.
Open plan dining area and kitchen with stainless steel appliances.
Fully equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances.
French doors in dining area lead to screen porch overlooking river.
Screen porch off dining area with rocking chairs and furnished for dining.
Master suite has king sleigh bed and screened balcony overlooking river with table and chairs.
Another view of master bedroom with king size sleigh bed
Master Bath with walk-in shower
Full Guest Bath on Main Floor with tub/shower combination
Gas grill and rocking chairs on deck overlook big back yard and river.
Enjoy the fire pit down on the river.  Firewood provided.
Romantic balcony overlooking the river
River View from back yard balcony
Back of cottage and arbor on path leading to river
Separate entrance to downstairs suite with screen porch and rocking chairs.
Sitting Room in Downstairs Suite with Sleeper Chair
First Queen Bedroom in Downstairs Suite
Second queen bedroom on lower floor has small fridge and coffee service.
Wide screen TV and coffee service in second queen bedroom on lower floor
Third full bath is in downstairs suite and has a walk-in shower.
Take a boat cruise on Lake Lure only 3-1/2 miles from cottage.
Hiking in Chimney Rock State Park is only 3 miles from cottage.
Zip lining at Canopy Ridge Farms in only 9 miles from cottage.
Lake Lure Marina and Beach and Lake Lure Inn is only 3-1/2 miles from cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Bat Cave, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MarinaUW
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Idyllic place in the mountains....”
Reviewed May 18, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We just returned after a short time in North Carolina. This was our first time and we could not have picked a nicer place. Sharon was a wonderful host - made all the arrangements easy and the house was waiting to greet us even though we got in late due to bad weather
in Chicago. The photos do not do justice to this beautiful property..while there is a 2nd
unit on the lower level, it was just my husband and me so we did not use it but it would be great if you are bringing kids or doing a girls weekend, etc.. The kitchen is very nicely appointed with everything you would need to cook (which we did every day). Glassware and dinnerware are very nice as well. There is a lovely screened in porch off of the bedroom with a pub table/2 chairs where we enjoyed a glass of wine in the evenings as well as a larger screen in porch off the kitchen with a dining table, café table as well as 2 rocking chairs and down a short flight of stairs there is a deck with 2 more rocking chairs as well as the gas grill. It was lovely to enjoy a glass of wine in the rocking chair while tending the grill and gazing at the river...There is a very large fire pit surrounded by adirondack chairs along with plenty of wood. There is also a nice little sitting area with a bench overlooking the river where we enjoyed our coffee in the morning...Just wonderful.

The bedroom was roomy and the bed was comfortable - nice large chests to store your clothing as well as a walk-in closet. Off the dining room is a laundry room with full size
washer/dryer - really helpful as we travel light so we don't have to check our bags at the airport.

The cottage is approximately 1hr 45 min from the Charlotte Airport (there is also an airport
in Asheville as well as Greenville-Spartanburg which are closer however didn't have nonstop flights from Chicago). It is a scenic drive and as you get into the Lake Lure area,
very curvy and pretty.

This was also a terrific spot to be in a quiet area but have easy access to activities.. Asheville is only about 30 minutes away - Biltmore Estate is a must see (get tickets in advance as you can save $10) as well as the Blue Ridge Parkway which is a drive through the mountains (if you go the whole route it is about 500 miles) with many areas to stop and view the beautiful area as well as many trails (from easy to strenuous) - we stayed north of Asheville on the parkway and hiked every day - it was gorgeous.

If you have the stamina, go to Chimney Rock State Park which is just minutes from the cottage, there is a 499 step stairway to the top of the rock which provides magnificent views
- my heart was pounding but it was great - would definitely do it again.

All in all and wonderful vacation and would definitely stay at the cottage again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home and the grounds - they were beautiful!!
Liked least: WiFi however location is in the mountains so this was not unexpected.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2016
Wow! What a wonderful review. You covered every aspect of the cottage and this area. We're delighted that you got to experience all this area has to offer. We agree it's wonderful and we love living here and helping our guests have a wonderful vacation. Only one thing you missed - zip lining! So now you have an excuse to come back and soar through the trees on a zip line. You were delightful guests and we would be thrilled to have you back again. Take care, Sharon and Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole R
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving family getaway”
Reviewed November 30, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Perfect location for a multigenerational getaway. The large backyard was great for our 2 young grandsons to run and play. The adults loved the fire pit, fishing & the sounds of the rushing river.
The house was clean and well appointed. The check in and out process was simple and seamless.

Thank you Sharon & Heather. We look forward to our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2015
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of Grist Mill River Cottage. We're so glad your grandsons enjoyed the big back yard. We agree the fire pit right down on the river is wonderful! Hope to see you and your family again, maybe in the spring or summer. Best wishes, Sharon and Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dottye b
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
“Absolutely Wonderful”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This cottage is just what we needed for a relaxing weekend. Beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. The screened in porches were wonderful. We loved the bench on the river to just sit and relax. The weather was not cool enough for us to use the huge fire pit but we will be going back. We were to check out Sunday, so Sunday morning we were taking in the beauty and listening to the river and had the totally unexpected blessing of an organist from the little church across the river as she began serenading us with hymns. Love this cottage.... Can you tell?

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne A...
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Just what we needed!”
Reviewed June 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Where do I begin to describe how perfect our stay was at Grist Mill River Cottage? We needed a long weekend to unplug and get away from it all, and this sweet cottage and burbling river more than delivered! The house itself was impeccable, with the bathrooms and kitchen spotless. The master bedroom has a huge comfy bed and we slept better than we have in months. We spent lots of time on the screened decks, and couldn't get enough of the sound of the ruver behind the house. The backyard and the house next door are also beautifully landscaped, which added so much to our enjoyment of being outside.

We WILL be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfy and huge king size bed, and the sound of the river.
Liked least: With so many other things provided, we were surprised that there were no coffee filters - thankfully we brought tea. :-)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2015
Thanks so much for writing a wonderful review of Grist Mill River Cottage. So glad you enjoyed the cottage and the back yard and fire pit on the river. It is indeed a very special, magical place. And thanks for the comment about cleanliness. We have excellent housekeepers who love what they do and take pride in their work. We wouldn't have it any other way! Please come and visit Grist Mill River Cottage again soon. Sharon and Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce M
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We found our little piece of heaven:)”
Reviewed October 15, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great stay at the Grist Mill River Cottage!!! We went with another couple (friends of ours) and we each had toddler boys with us which can always present a challenge to any stay. The cottage was very clean and nicely decorated, we really felt at home when we got there. The view of the river and the outside area was unbelievable!!! We had warm fires each nice and roasted marshmellows with the boys:) There is a great little cider mill two doors down where you can pick up some freshly made apple cider, and the town of Chimney rock is just down the road for dinner or a night out. Overall, we had a great experience and we can't wait to come back next year. We are already talking about when....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall atmosphere of the river cottage was very inviting and relaxing.
Liked least: Nothing...
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EF1215
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A natural retreat with every modern comfort!”
Reviewed September 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful home; A/C, great layout, cabin-like decor w/o looking too rustic. Awesome beds, great outdoor space with porches, decks, grill, fire pit, and the Broad River, then the mountains of the Hickory Nut Gorge. Great accessibility to hiking, charming towns like Black Mountain, Hendersonville, and the State Theater of NC. Good restaurants and cute shops are within a 10 minute drive. The funky vibe of Asheville and the elegance of the Biltmore estate are only 35 minutes away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: GREAT location and total comfort!
Liked least: Hunting lodge art
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of Grist Mill River Cottage. We are thrilled you liked the cottage and enjoyed its many amenities. We agree it's a very special cottage and its location on the Rocky Broad River can't be beat. We look forward to seeing you again next year! Best regards, Sharon and Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh nc
Reviewed October 20, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a nice review on Grist Mill River Cottage. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please keep us in mind for your next Mountain Dream getaway as we offer a 10% discount to repeat guests in Grist Mill River Cottage. Best wishes to you and your family, Sharon and Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing