We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serene, Magical and Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Light Sanctuary

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barnardsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Light Sanctuary
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Serene, Magical and Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

When you walk through the front gate something magical happens! All the hustle and bustle fade away. You feel something magical happening inside. This is a place to bring you back to your inner self. A place that reminds you what is truly important. Michael is beyond gracious. The hiking is energizing and mind opening. The sound of the stream lulls you to sleep. I have been going to Mountain Light for the past five years. I do my best to stay at least twice a year. Planning on spending my birthday in September in "Frodo's". Frodo's is right by the stream. And to top it off I'm taking my sweet dog "FRODO"! Can't wait to return! I have stayed there in the fall and in the spring. Autumn is incredible but then, so is spring.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
8 Thank DebbyTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chillicothe, OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have stayed at Mountain Light Sanctuary twice now & plan to return every year. Yes, it's rustic, but that's what we come for. We stay in the Wisteria Room in the lodge & often wake up to hummingbirds flitting around the open wall in the room. The community kitchen is fun & I always come away with a new recipe or two from other guests. We meet fascinating people from all over that we would never have the opportunity to meet in our daily lives. ML offers whatever you want, personal guidance, interesting community, privacy, or solitude & silent retreat if you like. And it's situated in what has to be one of the most beautiful mountain settings I have ever seen. Beauty & magic in every direction!

Room Tip: The beautiful rooms in the lodge itself give you access to a real bathroom at night if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CSteckel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have had the good fortune of visiting to little piece of paradise a number of times. All I can say is, if you want to have an extraordinary experience in nature, this is the place. The accommodations are rustic, the scenery is remarkable, the host is the best. I can't say enough... Just go and see for yourself.

Room Tip: The host, Michael is an amazing man. it's the most beautiful place on earth, complete with a cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OneHappyFamily12in12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I came to the Sanctuary originally for the minimum of two nights and ended up staying for about two weeks and helping out doing worktrade for Michael, the owner. This is a place to really calm down from the hustle that life can turn into and appreciate nature and the simple things that matter. I met some of the most wonderful people during my stay, learned a lot and made new friends. I brought my dog and it was a great place for the both of us to explore on the trails. I highly recommend visiting, I love it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Sanctuary was a perfect getaway for me. It's tucked in the middle of the Pisgah forest with lots of hiking trails within walking or short driving distance. It's also very close to Asheville. I went for one week and could have stayed a month. This is the perfect place to reconnect with nature and your spiritual self, in a comfortable environment--and it's affordable. Lots of great company, too, or you can hide out or wear a silent tag if you want to be alone. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Progressiveky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

After driving through a torrential storm from Greensboro, this was definitely my Sanctuary. I couldn't wait to set up the treehouse and relax for the evening. I loved the creek below, and went exploring for a bit before it got too dark. I couldn't get enough! The grounds are well cared for, as well as the accommodations. Unfortunately, I packed improperly and didn't have gear for chilly evenings. Bring a light blanket, pants and sweatshirt, even in the summer months. Also, make sure to bring bright flashlight. Michael is super friendly and helpful. I was not able to have a front porch session with him, but will make time for one on my next visit. Everyone I met during my stay were so welcoming and friendly. What a tranquil, peaceful place! I'm telling everyone I know about this place... There was a group coming in for the weekend, so my stay was way too short! I want to stay in Frodo's house next time ;)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ejkiuyhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Mountain Light truly is a shining light in the darkness. Upon entering the property via a winding path through the peaceful bamboo forest, you step into a wonderland of relaxation, restfulness and oneness with nature. Spend your days hiking to some of the most amazing views in the Pisgah National Forest, relaxing in a hammock or simply reading in a cozy spot in the gardens. Accommodations are rustic: some have no electricity. But rest assured you won't miss it. The lodge is nearby for cooking and charging electronic devices (or warming up with the wood stove on a chilly night). The lodge and surrounding porches has Wifi access as well.

Michael is very welcoming and immediately made me feel right at home. I highly recommend making time to enjoy a 'front porch session' with him. Whether you are coping with stressful life situations or simply want some advice on the next bit of your journey, Michael is understanding and offers a clear path forward.

Staying at the Sanctuary for only a few days left me feeling rejuvenated and healed in ways I never thought possible. The only thing I would change is to make my stay longer next time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnardsville
19.5 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 3 in Little Switzerland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,348 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Reynolds Mansion
The Reynolds Mansion
#2 of 38 in Asheville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Light Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Light Sanctuary

Property: Mountain Light Sanctuary
Address: 143 Old Ranger Rd, Barnardsville, NC 28709-9101
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Barnardsville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Barnardsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden deep in a secluded mountain cove in the Pisgah National Forest, 35 minutes north of Asheville, North Carolina, Mountain Light Sanctuary is a magical gateway into the world of nature. Bordered by two cascading creeks and ringed by the highest mountains in the eastern USA, it holds an energy and an ambiance which are nothing short of magical. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing