We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful & Serene”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barnardsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Light Sanctuary
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Serene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Mountain Light Sanctuary is truly a gem in the rough! The atmosphere is simply serene. The owner (and everyone I met) was super friendly and helpful. Hiking trails and a waterfall are within walking distance. Views are amazing. And the local farm, organic breakfast was a delicious treat. There's no cell service which turned out to be a blessing in disguise. I really enjoyed the rustic lodging and a chance to remove myself from constant EMF exposure. I would highly recommend it for anyone looking for a personal retreat, yoga, meditation, silent retreat or just a chance to escape and connect with nature. I'm so glad to have found this quiet haven and plan to return for each trip to come!

Room Tip: Highly recommend choosing a lodge on the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clyde, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

After driving for 2 days from Colorado with my two dogs to spend time at the Mountain Light Sanctuary, I was more than aptly rewarded. The beauty and energy of the Sanctuary is beyond words. It's like stepping into another world, one that is gentle, organic and free of adversity. During our 22-day stay, the "Tree House" was our home. It was absolutely perfect overlooking the stream and the ancient Pisgah National Forest. I brought my own bedding and other necessities and was quite comfortable. The lodge is rustic, homey and warm with a fully equipped kitchen, café area and a library to die for! The gardens are breathtaking with details sewn in that create a feeling of magic and wonder.

Michael Lightweaver is a gift to this planet holding Her energy in the highest manner possible. Knowing my trip was a life transformational one, I felt much more comfortable having Michael there to assist me in working through issues that may arise. My hypnotherapy session with Michael was powerful and removed anxiety I was having regarding a situation I was going into after my stay there. Happily, the transition went smoothly :)

The Mountain Light Sanctuary is a magical, healing place. Any time spent there will benefit one's soul, mind and body.

Many thanks and much love Michael!!!

Janet M.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I'm from Chicago and my trip to Mountain Light Sanctuary was spur of the moment. Even though I was there in April and the plants weren't in bloom yet, it was still beautiful. Being a city girl in the middle of the mountains alone was very scary for me. From the moment I stepped on property and met Michael, I felt as though I belonged there. No more fears or apprehensions. I stayed down by the river which was amazing. It was loud but I found it very relaxing. Michael made a fire for us every night and was always there to talk to(highly recommend by the way). He is a very kind soul with a world of wisdom.
I spent most of the 4 days I was there either reading on the property or exploring some of the amazing nearby trails with more waterfalls than I've ever seen.
I still think about my adventure there and plan to return again sometime in the future.
If your looking for a place to regroup and/or get guidance or to just disappear from the world, I definitely recommend here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelc1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Mountain Light Sanctuary is situated on the edge of the Pisgah forest and provides great opportunities for hiking and exploring the mountains. There are an amazing array of wildflowers on and around the property. Accomodations are rustic, no luxuries here, but if you are okay with that it is a wonderful place to spend some time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank SophiesMom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnardsville
19.5 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
10.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
Comfort Inn Mars Hills
#1 of 2 in Mars Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
11.9 mi away
Carolina Country Inn
Carolina Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Burnsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,532 reviews
23.5 mi away
Springmaid Mountain
Springmaid Mountain
#2 of 5 in Spruce Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Light Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Light Sanctuary

Property: Mountain Light Sanctuary
Address: 143 Old Ranger Rd, Barnardsville, NC 28709-9101
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Barnardsville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Barnardsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden deep in a secluded mountain cove in the Pisgah National Forest, 35 minutes north of Asheville, North Carolina, Mountain Light Sanctuary is a magical gateway into the world of nature. Bordered by two cascading creeks and ringed by the highest mountains in the eastern USA, it holds an energy and an ambiance which are nothing short of magical. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing