We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BBQ Around”

Currituck BBQ Company
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Barco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best BBQ Around”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stopped by here on the way back from the Outer Banks. This is a nice little place that doesn't look like much from outside. Order at a counter and pick up your food and sit down. But the bbq was soooo good. They serve it NC style, but you can put whatever sauce on it that you like. They had Eastern NC, South Carolina, and I think 4 other kinds. All of them were good, although I like Eastern NC the best. The hush puppies were good too. And they had fountain drinks, which you don't always find at a place this small. Our fries still had to cook, so they were brought to the table. Definitely stopping by here on my next trip.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nichodemus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    46
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic BBQ”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were directed to find this place and eat there. Glad we made the effort. Fantastic food and local atmosphere. Great portions and fantastic pie!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mseeliger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BBQ looking for help”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Having been to this place two years ago and being very pleased with what we were served, we were very disappointed when we stopped there this past week. The beef brisket was more like shredded beef and had no smoke flavor at all. The baked beans appeared and tasted like they came out of a can. The only good thing was the coleslaw. This was one place we had talked about several times on our first 3000 miles leg of our trip. We went out of our way for this, to be sure it won't happen again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BLENT777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stop in here when we go to the outer banks. The brisket ang BBQ pork are very good. We get as witches for lunch, and pork by the pound later for dinner. A must stop going to OBX

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DewarG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattaroy, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Some of the best bbq”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I would suggest this to anyone who has a love for good bbq. When I lived in WA this is one of the places I had to come on my visit home. Take time to taste each sauce before putting on your bbq as they make them on site, and they are good. Also, usually some of the best desserts you will find.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Currituck BBQ Company also viewed

 
Currituck, North Carolina Coast
Barco, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Currituck BBQ Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing