We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perhaps my favorite travel experience ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Temple House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Temple House
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perhaps my favorite travel experience ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

I sure do hope to come back here some day...

I suppose Temple House isn't for everyone. Truly, the typical American TripAdvisor reviewer who's concerned with updated facilities, climate control, and elevators - yeah that person should maybe skip Temple House. But let's hope I never suffer the boredom of traveling with that person.

Who should book at Temple House? Anyone with an imagination, a sense of humor, a longing for the past, a bit of adventure, anyone of any age who craves beauty and whimsy.

Okay, enough of my reverie, here's the deal. Traveling with a large family group, ages 2 - 70ish, County Sligo was a priority for us because of family roots. I campaigned heavily for Temple House after viewing the website and deciding it looked like "Downton Abbey, but with sheep." So, we booked five enormous, beautifully outfitted rooms, full of old-fashioned (maybe slightly dusty) charm, and (to my mother's great relief) totally updated bathrooms.

Our hosts Roderick and Helena, along with their dogs Cocoa, Pepper, and Treacle, treated us to an outstanding stay of delightful breakfasts, great family stories, and invaluable advice about what to do and how to get there. Don't miss the nearby Eagles Flying birds of prey sanctuary, dinner at Yeats County Inn on your way to Temple House, and lunch at the Beach Bar near Temple Boy. On Temple House's grounds, there are boats for rowing, croquet for playing, an old castle for photographing and wilderness for walking through.

My only regret is that we didn't book dinner at the house, I've heard it's not to be missed. Sadly, the price for the tiny little picky eaters with whom we traveled just didn't seem doable. But we did enjoy drinks in the sitting room, complete with a fire for the cool August nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
templar1864, Owner at Temple House, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you. Thank you. It spurs us on for 2014 to receive such reviews. Come and see us again. Did you see the size of our Christmas tree on Facebook on our newsletter?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    11
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
41
69
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We recently had a fantastic weekend in Temple House. My husband and I stayed in Temple House with 3 other couples from our family.
We had a great time relaxing in this beautiful historic house. It has everything for a chilled out weekend away......open fires, beautiful home-made food and a house that has so much character!
Our host Roderick made us feel so welcome and gave us a great overview of the history in the area.
We particularly enjoyed the North Atlantic Cod for dinner and beautiful Granola at breakfast.

Thank you Roderick, Helena and Staff for a memorable weekend.

Fay Family, Cavan

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kaz1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
templar1864, Owner at Temple House, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you the Fay Family. It was a pleasure to share Temple House with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was to be a surprise birthday treat weekend for my wife - so no pressure there then!
I did a little bit of research online, and luckily for me plumped for Temple House, Sligo. Got it right for once!
We had not been to Western Ireland before, so this was a new experience for us both. A smooth flight over from Liverpool, and we were on the road within 10 minutes or so of landing. A short drive later and we were at Temple House. We were given a beautiful room overlooking the extensive estate and lake. What could be better?
Roderick, our host had pre-booked supper that evening at a wonderful restaurant in Sligo Town. We ate heartily and thoroughly enjoyed the seafood on offer.
Next morning we had a leisurely breakfast around the enormous dining table, and thoroughly enjoyed chatting with other guests. We really had to drag ourselves away, so we could get on the road, and see the sights.
Again Roderick had planned an excellent itinerary, which under our own steam I'm sure we would not have discovered the beautiful scenery in these parts. A pub lunch at half time, followed by a mountain walk to see the impressive burial mound of the legendary Queen Maeve.
Supper in the house that evening was wonderful, and again spent in the company of our fellow guests. A great day!
Leaving the next morning came sadly only too quickly. A memorable trip, which we both have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MartinWoodhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
templar1864, Owner at Temple House, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you very much.
As you discovered, Temple House is just 35 mins from Knock Ireland West Airport - ideal for a quick break from the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at Templehouse for 2 nights as an experienced in a stately home as part of a 4 week tour of Ireland. It proved a memorable experience for us - due to the excellent hosting by Roderick, the attention to detail to ensure that our stay was a memorable one and the overall experience of staying in a place like TempleHouse. The rooms were very large, the facilities were of high standard and the breakfasts were of a very high quality and plenty of it.
So, very highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms were large with excellent facilities but some rooms were exceptionally grand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Di C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
templar1864, Owner at Temple House, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Di,
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure sharing our house with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed at Temple House back in 2001 with my mom. This trip my husband and I stayed. Both times, I felt that leaving there was like leaving home. My husband had the same reaction. The house is huge, with a grand entry hall and an even grander staircase leading up to the guest rooms. Every room has a feeling of history and elegance. Tall windows and high ceilings add to the feeling of spaciousness. Our room had internal shutters that must have been 8 feet tall. We closed them at night so the sun would not wake us too early. Our en suite bathroom was huge and held a claw-foot tub in addition to a spacious shower. A written history of the Perceval family and the estate was provided in our room, and portraits of the ancestors adorned the halls. Although my Irish ancestors were moderately prosperous farmers who surely never owned such a large and elegant house, there is something about Temple House that makes it feel like home. My husband even thought about sliding down the banister! We enjoyed books and drinks by the fire in the parlor/morning room in the evening, with the Perceval family dogs even coming in to say hello. In the morning, we joined other guests in the elegant dining room for breakfast, which included the very best scrambled eggs and brown bread of the entire trip. We then walked out to photograph the ruins of the castle that stand just a short distance from the house. Helena, our host, helped me pick out a pair of tall, rubber boots to borrow so I could walk all the way out to the lake and not worry about getting wet shoes and jeans. My husband, who loves a good conversation, stayed at the house and talked with our host, Roderick, while I explored the barns and watched the working dog as he herded sheep. Now, for picky people who must have perfection, keep in mind that Temple House is still a renovation work in progress. So, for example, we chose not to sit on the chaise lounge in our room because it was a well-worn antique and we didn't want to create further wear in the fabric. But it was clearly a period piece that added to the charm of our quarters. You may notice spots that are due to be repainted or wallpapered. If you are expecting 21st décor, better to stay at a Hilton. Temple House is an authentic Georgian manor with historical furnishings. Yet it is not a museum. It looks and feels "lived in," and that is part of its charm. You feel as if you could live there yourself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
templar1864, Owner at Temple House, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank for your thorough review. You have painted a very fair picture. This is indeed a labour of love and will probably always be work in progress. It just gets better and better! That's all. We like sharing it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1210 Sandspit Road Warkworth Matakana Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was by far one of the most unexpected pleasures and one of the highlights of our five week holiday in Ireland. We were welcomed by a happy and whistling Roderick closely follpwed by his four gorgeous dogs. Our initial impression of this huge house was that it had a 'Wuthering Heights' look about it and we wondered what on earth it would be like inside! Well, once we walked through the huge front doors we were in another world that Roderick and his wife Helena are working hard to restore to its former glory. Temple House is over three hundred years old and is Roderick's ancestral home. The niney four rooms were once upon a time truly magnifiscent and it will take many years to restore them to their full glory. However, their passion and love for this mansion was tangible and we were entranced by all the beauty around us, the history and the genuine old world hospitality.

Our bedroom was huge AND so comfortable. We had twin beds with canopies over them which made us feel very special indeed, a bathroom that was double the average modern bathroom had a bath and a great shower. Breakfast was served in the huge and very elegant dining room downstairs via the long staircase and it was absolutely delicious. We decided to have dinner there on our first night and the meal was superb, matched with excellent wines and even better company. Later, we spent an hour or so in the lounge,by the fire with drinks and chocolate. It was delightful and an evening we will always remember and iI you ever get the chance, I highly recommend a stay atTemple House. iI is a genuine Irish and truly outstanding experience. Thank you Roderick and Helena, we would love to visit you again and we wish you the best in your endeavours to restore this magnifiscent historic home.

Room Tip: We had the twin room which was huge and very, very comfortable. Very quiet and the beds were very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saltings_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
templar1864, Owner at Temple House, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Hello the Kiwis
It was fun having you to stay. Thanks for taking the trouble to write. We are hoping to get the wood pellet boiler installed soon - the oil is so expensive. Then we plan to throw up a splash of paint on the rooms to right as you walk in the front hall. Pop over and see how we are getting on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our small group tour stayed in this marvellous place in July. Roderick (and the dogs) made us very welcome and, since we occupied all of the rooms, we felt like long-lost cousins visiting for a country weekend. Our room was more than spacious, the bathroom modern and the breakfasts and dinners were delicious. We wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
templar1864, Owner at Temple House, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
'a highlight' - love it. That's what we want to hear.
thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Templehouse Demesne
8.4 mi away
Castle Dargan
Castle Dargan
#1 of 1 in Ballygawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
12.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
10.5 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballymote
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
11.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple House

Property: Temple House
Address: Templehouse Demesne | Sligo, Templehouse Demesne, Ballymote F56 NN50, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Ballymote > Templehouse Demesne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Templehouse Demesne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Temple House, in Sligo, is a beautiful manor set in a private estate of over 1,000 acres, overlooking a 13th-century lakeside castle of the Knights Templar. The Perceval family home since 1665, the present manor was redesigned in 1864 and exudes the authentic and unpretentious country house atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Temple House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple House Hotel Ballinacarrow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing