We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy and comfortable and beautiful”
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
3 reviews
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
Red Stag Lodge at Eagle's Nest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Banner Elk, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Cozy and comfortable and beautiful”
Reviewed January 4, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Red Stag Lodge was a well decorated and very comfortable for the most part. For the amount of the rental, I would expect that things to be in full working order. The TV above the fireplace worked and had a good picture...however the ability to watch a DVD was not functional.... not a big deal, but the rental has an entire book about the entertainment system and it was not functional... we called about this and was told they assumed the owners are making some adjustments and they were sorry.

If sleeping in is important to your crew, the bedrooms are not very quiet or private. There is one bedroom off the game room is private. The Master is basically open to the great room. The wall does not go totally up to the ceiling. The loft rooms are not quiet..they too are pretty open to the great room. The game room, which is amazing, is directly above the bunk beds and there is no way anyone could sleep if people are playing in the game room. We had a few young kids who were early risers, and we had to try and keep them quiet until othe people were up.
Overall, our family had a wonderful time and enjoyed our stay very much. We felt the location was great. Views were really beautiful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2018
We want to thank you for choosing Blue Ridge Vacation Cabins. We appreciate you and your feedback, we consider it the opportunity to improve. We certainly hope that you will come back and see us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great large Mountain Cabin”
Reviewed October 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a long mountain weekend at the Red Stag with close friends and family and had a great time. Our group was a total of three young families, with one child under 5 for each. The house easily accommodated our group. The house is a beautifully decorated large log cabin. The picture really don’t do it justice. The owners really struck a nice balance between woodsy and luxury. We love to cook and the kitchen was nicely laid out and plenty of kitchenware and high in appliances. What really makes this house so special is the deck and views. For two nights, we had clear nights and just relaxed on the large wrap around porches eating, drinking and taking advantage of the hot tub. The owners were very responsive to our emails and calls. I would certainly recommend this house and will likely stay there again if we decide to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2016
Thank you, we look forward to having you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
22Rad22
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place...with qualifications”
Reviewed November 23, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I rented this place recently for my family and a close family friend for 5 nights for a much-needed fall getaway. In most ways it was great and, with some qualifications, served our needs adequately.

There were however some disappointments.

Be sure to look at the map. This is one of the lowest properties in elevation on the entire mountain with a relatively limited view. It IS extremely private and nestled in the woods but don't expect expansive views or a mountaintop environment.

For the rental price being charged, I would have expected a functioning icemaker in the main floor refrigerator. There was, in fact, no icemaker at all. It had been removed. The plasma TV over the main fireplace had evidently been heat-damaged by the fireplace and the plastic facade was partially melted. The picture was totally screwed up with distorted colors, impossible to watch. Our only need for it was to watch a Clemson football game. Instead of Clemson orange, everything was "Clemson green" including the players' flesh-tones. The sound system is supposed to provide music to the rear deck around the fireplace as well as the hot tub area. This never worked.

Oddly, there was trash (empty styrofoam food plates, empty plastic pop containers, and other detritus) littering the lower driveway and around the grounds surrounding the lowest level. This was somewhat surprising.

Please note that the description of the upstairs sleeping arrangements states that it is a "loft area". That is accurate, although the pictures are not. Looking at the pictures alone would lead one to believe that there are two private bedrooms. There ARE two bedrooms but they are only separated by a nonlocking double door which is neither soundproof nor private. One should essentially consider it a single bedroom with two full size beds. In addition, the upstairs bathroom serving these two sleeping areas is grievously small. To make matters worse, on the day of arrival, the pocket door entering the bathroom was off its track and when closed, could not be opened without brute force. While the rental company was prompt in making a repair that afternoon, that repair took approximately two hours with a compressor running, nail gun and hammer noises etc. Our dog was not happy.

Finally, the bunk beds and small sleeping chamber depicted on the lowest level of the house have no way of being closed off or made private from the "recreational" floor immediately above. In other words, if people are playing pool, ping-pong, air hockey or a boisterous game of cards on the recreational floor, sleeping and privacy on the basement floor are impossible. Included in our party was our six month old grandson. The only way we could accommodate his and our needs was to have his bed in the master bathroom. No other space in the entire house was suitable for isolating his nighttime needs and noises from others in the house and isolating our noises from him when he needed to sleep. If you have a large party, don't plan to bring an infant. I would also note that the small sleeping chamber in the back of the ground floor had evidently been hastily remodelled recently and, while habitable, was not quite finished when we were there...certainly not up to par for the price.

I can only conditionally recommend this rental to any potential client if, (a) appropriate repairs are made to the television, ice maker and soundsystem and (b) potential renters are fully aware of the other limitations mentioned above.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2016
We strive to be very forthcoming with information on our homes, never wanting a guest to feel mislead upon arrival. For that reason, we are sure to post photos of areas such as the loft bedrooms, to further illustrate the specifics outlined in the descriptions such as referring to sleeping areas, rather than bedrooms, for the loft area. The pictures used online were selected to convey the smaller size of those spaces. As to the lack of a door into the lower level, that is not unusual for such a floor plan in similar homes, really it is just the style of the home. Red Stag has been a very popular home since entering our rental program in July 2015, already hosting some repeat guests, and honestly this is the first time we have had negative feedback about the loft sleeping areas or the lack of door to the lowest level. However, each family or group is a bit different, and preferences vary - this is one of the reasons our staff is always happy to answer questions/discuss specifics for the homes to help our guests find the best possible fit.

The issue with the icemaker was actually due to the bin that holds the ice cubes - it had been damaged, and a new one was on order, so in the interim ice trays were in use. Since ours is a small town, parts are not easily available to the extent we can just run to a supplier and pick up such items, but we do get them as quickly as possible, and this has been replaced. The issue with the television was new, and rather than risk a repair that may not last, the homeowner chose to have a new unit installed.

If repairs are necessary during a stay, we try to be as non-intrusive as possible, however the necessary tools for the repair do play a large part in this. We did get our staff over to the home right away, and are sorry for the stress it caused your pet.
Finally, in our area bears are not uncommon, and unfortunately they seem to have enjoyed someone's garbage outside the home, after the home was cleaned for this guest but obviously prior to their arrival. Any time this happens, we send our staff out right away to clean up the debris.
We do work diligently to offer a wide variety of homes to suit all tastes, list accurate and up-to-date information online, and quickly respond to any issues. We value all feedback, and are known in our area for providing better quality homes and experiences to our guests, and if there ever is an issue, we are known to make every effort to make it right for your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing