We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“This is the place to go for Japanese.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tokyo Express

Tokyo Express
Ranked #34 of 48 Restaurants in Banner Elk
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
71 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This is the place to go for Japanese.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

This is the only place to go for Japanese cuisine if you're in Banner Elk because the other restaurants don't serve Japanese food. The food is ok. Service is almost nonexistent. But If you are really craving those typical Japanese meals where they give you a fantastic cup of chicken broth with a slice of a mushroom, and a wonderful salad that consist of a few leafs of iceberg lettuce with a sliver of a carrot and some chewy meat and some rice. Let's face it we all just want to smother something with shrimp sauce. This is the place to go.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerico7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    2
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banner Elk, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a selection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Japanese or Vietnamese, either way, Tokyo will feed you good. and the staff will be sure you are happy with your selection. Nancy and Cindy are ALWAYS THERE, so you can count on a filling, great tasting meal everytime.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MtnMan7863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
192 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Love the Vietnamese Menu!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

There is something for everyone on the menu! Hibachi grilled items & sushi too. Sushi was really priced well. We almost went back the second night too. The grandkids split one of the hibachi dinners and there was still food left over. Four adults and 3 grand kids ate for less than $80. Wine and beer only. Service could have been a little better. The waitress disappeared after the food came so we only had one round of drinks but the food was so good it didn't ruin the evening. Good thing we were in ski clothes it was a little chilly inside but we were eating late on a Sunday. We'll be back next ski trip.
They are in the process of changing name to Cam Ranh Bay.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nsenn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banner Elk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good, with the right service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I have been dining at Tokyo for years. Nancy, the owner, is very accommodating and sweet. I love the Vietnamese menu, it's one of a kind in Banner Elk. I'd recommend the angry dragon sushi roll (it's not too spicy) and the Bun Thit Nung & Chai Goi. Absolutely delicious. The Japanese menu is good as well. The only down fall of this place is the wait staff. The two young adults that wait tables here are inattentive and often rude. Sometimes the cooks are nice enough to wait on us when we are being neglected. When Nancy is not there we won't dine there without an extra hour or two to waste. There have also been some nice renovations to the place as well.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SweetNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

the food is amazing. there is a lot of food on the plate. i wish it was a bit less money even though there is a lot of food. the servers where traditional outfits. the sushi is way to high($$).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank amy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo Express also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Tokyo Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing