We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Vietnamese Menu!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyo Express

Tokyo Express
100 High Country Square, Banner Elk, NC 28604
(828) 898-4121
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 48 Restaurants in Banner Elk
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
192 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Love the Vietnamese Menu!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

There is something for everyone on the menu! Hibachi grilled items & sushi too. Sushi was really priced well. We almost went back the second night too. The grandkids split one of the hibachi dinners and there was still food left over. Four adults and 3 grand kids ate for less than $80. Wine and beer only. Service could have been a little better. The waitress disappeared after the food came so we only had one round of drinks but the food was so good it didn't ruin the evening. Good thing we were in ski clothes it was a little chilly inside but we were eating late on a Sunday. We'll be back next ski trip.
They are in the process of changing name to Cam Ranh Bay.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nsenn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    2
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banner Elk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good, with the right service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I have been dining at Tokyo for years. Nancy, the owner, is very accommodating and sweet. I love the Vietnamese menu, it's one of a kind in Banner Elk. I'd recommend the angry dragon sushi roll (it's not too spicy) and the Bun Thit Nung & Chai Goi. Absolutely delicious. The Japanese menu is good as well. The only down fall of this place is the wait staff. The two young adults that wait tables here are inattentive and often rude. Sometimes the cooks are nice enough to wait on us when we are being neglected. When Nancy is not there we won't dine there without an extra hour or two to waste. There have also been some nice renovations to the place as well.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SweetNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

the food is amazing. there is a lot of food on the plate. i wish it was a bit less money even though there is a lot of food. the servers where traditional outfits. the sushi is way to high($$).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank amy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banner Elk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My favorite place ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

When I want comfort food that is not only good, but easy on the wallet, I go here. The service is wonderful and their sushi is amazing. I've eaten other sushi in the high country and compared to here, the others make me sick. This is the place to go for a nice relaxing time. I go here with my husband often and I always get a Baltimore Roll, Edamame, and a side order of hibachi chicken cooked with onions. All that for about $12. Very easy on the wallet and yet it has the the luxury and beauty in the restaurant. Take my word, just go eat there! :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sammantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stopped in at the recommendations of friends, and were surprised! Amazing food, service, and prices!!! The Lemonade is fresh, homemade, and delicious (free refills as well). I had a sushi boat, and my boyfriend had a hibachi meal. We both had way more food than we could eat and both meals came with a miso soup our house salad. Our meal with drinks was less than 30$! The cheapest I have ever spent on sushi anywhere, and just as good! Freash and delicous, very good sushi! Our food came out as soon as it was ready (boyfriends steaming), and we will most assuredly will return to this hidden gem.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo Express also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Tokyo Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing