We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place in Banner Elk”
Review of Zuzda - CLOSED

Zuzda
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hwy 194
Description: Locally sourced ingredients prepared in small plates.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our favorite place in Banner Elk”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We took visiting friends to our favorite spot in Banner Elk and once again enjoyed the extensive tapas menu. With so many interesting selections, it is difficult to make a decision about your choices for the evening. All of our friends return home raving about the food and service. This time I tried three new items and one old favorite, the brie in a wonderful carmelized sauce. The new items were the St. Jacque scallops, salmon in a puff pastry and stuffed portobello. All were outstanding. The two girls in the party shared these four dishes while the men opted to not share their items. My husband had pork pot stickers, the brie, and grilled shrimp.
You can order your items leisurely one at a time if you'd prefer and have time to visit with friends in between. A great place for dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandbon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    59
    22
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boone, NC 28607
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Food and service terrific”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Six of us, all adults, had dinner. It was the first time for 4 of us. Our hostess had raved about it prior to going so we were prepared for the extensive menu items. It is about a 45-minute drive but we live in a scenic area so that was not a problem, and we would definitely return. All of the following items were ordered: Lamb chop, peppercorn steak, liver, chicken pot pie, filet mignon, and nut crusted mountain trout, shoestring fries, sweet potato fries, and vegetable tempura. Everyone loved what they ordered. I ordered the trout (excellent), I also had the best appetizer I have ever eaten - the gorgonzola encrusted artichoke hearts (fabulous!). Two of us also ordered the kale as I had read really good reviews of the kale, but we both were disappointed, as it tasted gritty and wasn't cooked as well as we liked it. That is the only reason I did not give this 5 stars. The service was impeccable. The atmosphere is really nice, and the restaurant was filled on a Wednesday night. We could not figure out how they could maintain so many items to sell and have them come out perfectly. We will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunalei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and meet people.”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Holly was a great pretender. Peel and eat shrimp, tomato mozzarella and Martinis were excellent. Thank you

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MyrtleBeachTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dinner”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Five of us had dinner at Zuzda with different dishes for each. All choices were outstanding! Beautifully prepared and presented. Zuzda is definitely a must on the next trip to this area of North Carolina!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susanjaym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Extensive menu for our family. We all left satisfied and happy.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

There were 7 of us that dined here. It was t cheap by the time we were done because the portions are sharing size (tapas) therefore you order more than you MIT normally order. But I have to say that everyone enjoyed it. It's a nice restaurant with good service. We ate here with 2 kids, 1 adult kid, my husband & I and my in laws and there was something for everyone. We all really liked the veggie tempura. Nice, light batter. I also like the bread with the fresh garlic and the Brie cooked in Phyllo. Yum. Seriously, anywhere that has Brie on their menu has to be good. My husband did not like the chili. He tried my step son's sliders (meatball & cheese) and said next time he should get that. The kids all loved the Mac n' Cheese. My 10 year old son loved the fried ravioli. The Zuzdashetta was very good. The wine was priced decently. I had a glass of red zin for $6 and it was good for me but there were plenty of more expensive glasses & bottles to order should you wish. There is a bar there too if you want something stronger. I like the fact that the waters were refilled constantly. That was good. We ate here last year and had a grea time. We sat upstairs last time and downstairs this time. I preferred the decor and ambience of upstairs but we had a great time this time too.

We would definitely splurge and come back here again in the future.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zuzda also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing