We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food excellent, service horrible.”
Review of Zuzda - CLOSED

Zuzda
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hwy 194
Description: Locally sourced ingredients prepared in small plates.
Belmont, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food excellent, service horrible.”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had never been to a tapas restaurant, so this was a new experience. The food was very good, with a nice variety. It was fun sharing and sampling with everyone in our party of 6.

The service, however, was horrible. We did not see our server until we had been there for 15-20 minutes. She then took two of our orders and left the table. She came back about 10 minutes later to finish taking orders. After she delivered all of our food, we did not see her again until about 15 minutes after we finished eating. We were considering ordering additional dishes and dessert, but with such horrible service, we decided to leave.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lstamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    59
    22
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairhope, AL
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Sadly slipping more each year.”
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

This tapas restaurant used to be our favorite in the summer. It has an extensive list of small plates and executed them very well. Unfortunately, each year the menu gets a little more tired and the service a bit more slow. This would be the perfect restaurant for a makeover. The menu hasn't changed in at least 4 years! The old carpet and draperies are in desperate need of a good cleaning, really just rip it all out and start over! Comparing Zuzda's to the new places (painted fish, the monkey and the frog) it fails badly by not being fresh, using local ingredients and keeping the menu up to date. I hope they find their way back.

Helpful?
Thank carobama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good place for the varied eaters!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Tapas tapas tapas. I am a vegetarian. My husband, carnivore. We have NEVER had a bad dish here. My personal faves are the black bean quisita, the hummus, the mushrooms, stay away from. That way there'll be more for me! :) And the ciabatta with roasted garlic...does not suck one bit!

My husband loved the lamb lollipops, the ribs and the pecan-crusted chicken.

The service can be questionable on a bad night. But for the most part, it's impeccable.

This place is awesome if you are trying to please a bunch of different palates :)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank gillicanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very good Tapas”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Zuzda specializes in small plates, i.e,Tapas. The menu has so many selections that it is almost overwhelming. No doubt you will find items that you like here. Our excellent server explained the Tapas concept. and suggested that we each order one item at at time. It is a good place to have a leisurely dinner because you are served at your own pace and not rushed. Our selections were all good, particularly the lobster bisque, spring rolls, and creme brulee.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank statboy2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“many many tapas options”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Overall, great place to sample lots of different fare. It was hit or miss with a few things we ordered, but overall very good. I'm a cook & even I know it's hard to master every single dish when you have that many items on the menu. I would definitely go back! :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jalapeno6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zuzda also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing