We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still a Great Place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zuzda - CLOSED

Zuzda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hwy 194
Description: Locally sourced ingredients prepared in small plates.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Still a Great Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We just happened to stumble on Zuzda about 4 years ago. It was great then and I'm happy to say it is still great. Amazing selection of foods; something for everyone. We shared several items on the menu and found all of them to be delicious. From the soups to the veggies to the meats and the desserts it was all good. The service was excellent with our waitress making suggestions and answering questions happily. We'll be back again for sure.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DMCourtSpahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    59
    22
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“NICE DINING IN THE MOUNTAINS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a Tapas Restaurant with a very diverse tasting menu. The food is very good. They also have a nice wine selection. We have been here several times, and have enjoyed our visitst. Service seems to be a little on the slow side. Overall,, its a great place to dine in beautiful Banner Elk.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pilot2643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good food fun place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We traveled to the Banner elk area on last minute buisness and were unfamiliar with the area. I chose to try this place on the reviews found here on Trip advisior and found it to be a good meal over all.

the good:

- food taste freshness and variety of menu
- kindness of staff
- variety of venues to dine in ( patio, dinning room or piano bar.

the reason for four stars:

- live entertainment was very good but the volume was too loud for the space to the point it was painfull a little lower and it would be just right.

- service: very nice and professional but seem a little on the slow side to get to your table, in their defense it is packed there.

- clighting upstairs is so low a 26 year old with descent eyes had issue reading the menu

sugestions:

- call in a reservation on the weekend in season its tough to get a seat

- bring the glasses if sitting upstairs

- as with any tappas place watch how much you roder the food is good and well priced so its easy to keep orering and be surpried by the bill in the end.


give it try you won't regret

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank enstormblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
160 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Variety and Funky atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Cool place to check out in Banner Elk. Loved the casino clams and had lot of fun mixing it up with the tapas menu. The wife really loved the mac and cheese, really in its own class.
Service was good, but it must be hard to suggest from such a diverse menu. The owner seemed to be real hands on . Interesting to sit at the downstairs bar and get a true feeling for local color. We were so into trying different foods(filet mignon and seafood) that we did not focus on our bill. Still a great bargain and a place to check out!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wataugian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Zuzda Never Disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

One of the highlights of our biannual trips to Banner Elk is a visit to Zuzda, or the Tapas Bar, as we call it. With over 120 menu items, this place has something for everyone. We are family and love to share so we can try more dishes. Personal favorites are the chicken risotto and the roasted vegetable salad. There is an extensive wine list and the service is friendly and consistently good. Reservations are recommended, especailly for weekends.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GAGirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zuzda also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing