We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy Inside...”
Review of Dunn's Deli

Dunn's Deli
Ranked #15 of 48 Restaurants in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
banner elk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Filthy Inside...”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Good veggie wrap, but disgusting inside. Service not very cheery. Take it to go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suzie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    52
    16
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't go here”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was my second time here and it's way over priced and absolutely a dirty establishment . Not to mention they messed up my order AGAIN !
Took my four year old daughter to the bathroom and it was the dirtiest bathroom I have ever been in. You couldn't even just stand there without getting. The toilet was nasty and the paper towel machine was gross. If they can't keep clean the bathroom that the public can see, what else does the rest of the place look like " behind the scenes ". Owner ship should be ashamed of themselves.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyParasole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't judge by appearance.”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a rather old and very plain small restaurant. During our visit, the cook was the only one working there so service was a little slow. Orders are placed at the counter and you bring food back to your table. The sandwiches were top-notch. My friend said her Reuben was the best she had ever had and my Carolina Cuban was also excellent. Very good prices.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SFarley90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tasty sandwiches...”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Me and my husband went and had sandwiches packed for our hike at Grandfather Mountain... food was excellent but they were very busy and we waited a good half hour for our sandwiches... I would recommend calling ahead to save time... atmosphere nothing to speak of, but enjoyed the food!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tigeratecu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service and cleanliness detracted from good food”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Had the daily special- Italian turkey burger. Was good- turkey and pepperoni was a new combination for me. Unfortunately, the staff didn't seem to care about my business- busy with what appeared to be maybe a big catering order. Stopped by the restroom on the way out- it was pretty filthy with a clogged sink.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunn's Deli also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Dunn's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing