We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”

Stonewalls Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 48 Restaurants in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Holly Ridge, North Carolina
1 review
“Great food and service”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

we had a wonderful meal and a wonderful server named Jason. He was very pleasant and served us with a smile .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bajusbeach5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    107
    60
    29
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
156 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the Highlands”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Our favorite restaurant up in the highlands . . .I've reviewed them before and nothing has changed . . . maybe even better now . . . had dinner there last night with 9 friends . . . their prime rib is known all over these hills . . . 1.5" thick and perfectly prepared . . . my husband's favorite meal . . . I always get the evening special dinner . . . for $25 you get soup or salad . . . I always go for the endless salad bar . . . not your usual some lettuce and a few others . . . I didn't count but I would guess at least 30 different selections . . including Caesar . . . with crackers and cheese to go with the salad . . . then you have the entree . . . I always have the 1/2 rack of ribs and 1/2 BBQ chicken (but friends rave about the salmon) . . . that's with choice of potato and a vege . . .and freshly baked bread . . . then to top it off is Creme Brulee or Chocolate Mousse . . . again all for $25! Anne and John are the gracious owners who continually checked to see if everything was good . . . they didn't have to worry . . . we had Marcia McRae as our server . . . what a delight . . . she was on top of everything . . . brought it or asked about it before we even knew we wanted it . . . looking forward to many more dinners this season with them .. .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SeasonedTraveler088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banner Elk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Prime Rib ever!”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We have been eating here for over 6 years and we have found it to be extremely consistent in quality of food, service,and friendliness. Which is to say, they do things right! I have never had a disappointing meal or experience there. We have seen many of the same staff there for all these years and that is saying something! A shout out to Jason tonight, who, as always, is a pleasure to have as our waiter. We love the prime rib and the salad bar and you can't beat the bottle wine prices. It is truly one of the best restaurants you could go to in Banner Elk or anywhere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank appmom14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banner Elk, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistent and very good”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Been going to Stonewalls for over 10 years. It has been a standout. Last night had an excellent prime rib. Their steaks and other entries we have experienced have always been very good. Portions excellent.The wine was priced reasonably with a generous portion that beats the other local establishments. We were greeted by the ownership and the waiter has been there off and on for some time giving us outstanding service. Highly recommend. You will not be disappointed.

D D

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rddonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Prime Rib and great service as well !!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This was my first time to this restaurant and I was delighted! We had five people in our group and everyone raved about the food. The salad bar had a great selection, and the gentleman that served us was very attentive. I couldn't believe the size and quality of the smaller Prime Rib. Superb! It was a fun evening and we will be back for more great food!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sing4u711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonewalls Restaurant also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Stonewalls Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing