We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lasagna is Great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sorrento's Bistro

Sorrento's Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Sorrento's Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 48 Restaurants in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is an upscale bistro with a strong accent for Italian. This family business involves 3 generation of family owned and operated, with the 30 year anniversary approaching. We thank all of our local customers, and look forward to the new ones.
Sugar Mountain , NC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lasagna is Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Some of the best sauce we have had. Have had some other good dishes as well. Service is ok but not exceptional

Helpful?
Thank GH23MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    101
    37
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in a quiet spot.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Sorrentos used to be our favorite Italian restaurant in Banner Elk. On our last visit we ordered the Sorrento special pizza, as we had many times before. The pizza was so salty we couldn't finish it and didn't want a doggie box. The salads were good. I'm sure we'll give them another try, but on the last visit someone got carried away with the sodium.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank RickGANC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Great customer serivce & amazing food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

I recently dined at Sorrentos for the first time this past week with a few of my friends from out of town. We all wanted to try this "Spectaclar" Italian Restaurant that we have heard so much about. We had a reservation around 7:00 and we were greeted by their friendly staff and seated right away. We ordered a spinach artichoke melt as our appetizer and it was delightful. I highly recommend trying their crabcakes which has became my new favorite place to go when I am craving them because they are some of the best I've ever eaten. Each entrée we ordered was just fantastic. The service was great, between our waiter and the hostess checking on us we were all very well taken care of. If you are ever in the area I hope you try this place out for youself. It truely is one of the best authentic italian restaurants I have tried.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Used to be one of our favorites, but is now one of the worst places we know of...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

I have previously given Sorrento's an excellent rating, but I am sorry to say that things have changed in recent times. We have dined there about once a month to once every other month for many years. It has always been one of our favorite restaurants. However, our past 5 or 6 trips have been beyond awful. Ever since Phil stopped managing the place and several of the original wait staff have left, it has gone downhill. The staff now is absolutely some of the rudest I have ever encountered. The current chef is terrible. Some of the dishes that we have loved for many years are now on a level with Olive Garden, or worse. We dined at Sorrento's tonight, and after many many nights at this restaurant, this was our last. It pains me to see a place that we used to love in such horrible shape. The food seems to be quickly prepared, and similar to what you would get out of a freezer, the wait staff (especially the hostess) are all rude and lousey, and there are much better ways to spend your money than to give it to these people. DO NOT EAT HERE! As a long time customer it was hard to write this review, but Sorrento's is flat out awful now!!!

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
11 Thank Dhasek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Year-round Delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Love the food. Sometimes the service gets a bit stressed when the hoards descend, but generally very good. Warm welcome. By all means order the artichoke Francaise, even though it is seldom on the menu. They will usually prepare it for you. One order will serve three unless you are especially piggy...which I have been known to be. A top-value for a small ski-town. Parking is usually available around back. The outdoor seating is our favorite but there is a large dining room if weather requires it and the wine room is available for a more intimate setting.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank jetlagged08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorrento's Bistro also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Sorrento's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing