We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveler rating
179
22
16
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
179
22
16
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting tasting room great wine buy a bottle rolling hills other guests the barn each morning fire pit beautiful setting wedding terri sorrentos fireplace porch bonfire fall
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 233 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2015

We went here for my birthday, but didn't spend the night at the villa. We went for the wine tasting experience.

It was different than I expected, mainly because we had to stand at a bar and taste the wines. I enjoyed the experience and the barmaid went over each wine and what it was like and the taste of them. I enjoy the experience of learning about each one.

The grounds were beautiful and if it wasn't so hot when we went, I could see hanging out all day enjoying some of the wine. They had tables everywhere and there was a very nice lake to look at while they had someone playing the guitar.

Up the road, they had blueberry patches and off to the side was the B&B.

It was a nice experience.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2015

We stayed here for my birthday awhile back and ever since we left I have been trying to get back here! Beautiful accomodations and the staff were lovely! The breakfast is amazing every day! Each room has a jacuzzi and the beds are super comfortable!

Room tip: There is not a bad room in this place!!!!!!!
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stacie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2015

We had the smaller room located downstairs, closer to the outdoors patio & hot-tub. The room had a musty smell that gave us a headache. It also had a perfumed odor as if to mask the musty smell. Room was large. The king sized bed was too soft for our taste.

Housekeeping was poor. I found used soap in the shower, but no new soap & no water glasses. When we left our coffee cups in the room, we returned to find them still there.
Breakfast was very good, but was only served at 9:30, which was inconvenient if you want to get out early for sightseeing. Cooking staff was friendly. There is also no staff at the building in the evenings. The grounds are pretty & I did enjoy the free wine tasting.

I would not recommend staying in this room. Perhaps the other rooms were better.

Room tip: Do not stay in smaller downstairs room unless you like musty smells.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roamabout23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2015

I should begin by saying that we have only stayed at a B&B one other time. That B&B set a very high standard for us to compare the Banner Elk Villa against. I honestly have not gotten over the fact that you are not greeted at the Villa upon arrival other than by a flyer with your name on it sitting on an entry table as you walk into the front door. No personal touch at all. Such a disappointing experience for us.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2015

We stayed for 4 days in the Cabernet Fireplace Suite and it was perfect. The room is huge with beautiful views overlooking the pond. So quiet and gorgeous just sitting down there by the water. The winery is also fun to be ale to walk down there. And Boone and Blowing Rock are only 20 mins or so away. Elk River Falls was beautiful and about 15 mins away. Great house and location and breakfast was great each morning. You can see millions of stars at night. Great place to unwind and just relax!

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Suska13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews