We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Elk River
Ranked #1 of 8 Banner Elk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We were so pleased with our stay at the Inn at Elk River. The Inn itself was beautiful and boasted an absolutely lovely view off the balcony outside our room. The Inn Keeper was friendly and accommodating, even cooking my breakfast separately so that I could have a gluten free breakfast. The inn is conveniently located to town, but feels like it's far away thanks to the tree cover and location on the mountain. I would have expected such a stay to cost much more than it did. We couldn't be any more pleased.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Lacy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jslowery, Owner at The Inn at Elk River, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Thank you for your excellent review! All of us at the Inn at Elk River appreciate your feedback & review of our inn & our wonderful innkeeper, Darlene! We appreciate your feedback to help us improve & we welcome your comments. Thank you so much for your stay & please consider a return visit in the near future to our B&B inn on your next visit to Banner Elk! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 187 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

For my wife and me, this was our first experience with a B&B. Wow, what a treat it was to find this beautifully decorated and secluded home away from home. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Each room has its own bathroom and TV. This B&B is located on the side of a mountain with a beautiful view, but is just minutes from downtown. It sits off of the road so there is no road noisy at all. Your visit will be topped of with really great food and snacks.

Room Tip: The rooms with a king size bed also have a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob-Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jslowery, Owner at The Inn at Elk River, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you for your excellent review! All of us at the Inn at Elk River appreciate your feedback & review of our inn & our wonderful innkeeper, Darlene! We appreciate your feedback to help us improve & we welcome your comments. Thank you so much for your stay & please consider a return visit in the near future to our B&B inn on your next visit to Banner Elk! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

At this price point this was the best BnB we have stayed in. Service was great even though the weather was less than ideal. It is more of a simple place without feeling austere. I felt at home. It was not so packed with antiques that I was afraid to touch anything.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jslowery, Owner at The Inn at Elk River, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

All of us at the Inn at Elk River appreciate your feedback & review of our inn & our wonderful innkeeper, Darlene! We appreciate your feedback to help us improve & we sincerely welcome your comments, good and bad.

Thank you so much for your stay & please consider a return visit in the near future to our B&B inn on your next visit to Banner Elk! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

I booked this B&B on the strength of the Trip Advisor reviews and the location shown on Google maps for a spontaneous NYE away with the wife.

It took some time to find it. It is NOT located where Google maps shows it, apparently within walking distance of downtown Banner Elk. It is about a mile further south, down a busy road that would be dangerous to walk on. Not great for NYE. I don't drink and drive.

We drive a Forerunner so the driveway wasn't a problem. Any 2wd would have issues in snow/ice.

The view from the Inn is lovely and the rooms are well appointed, but the walls are kinda thin. We felt like we knew our neighbors quite well by the next morning.

Darlene is indeed an attentive host, and she is also the breakfast cook. You need to order your breakfast the night before. I've never appreciated this on a full stomach. Breakfast is best described as mountain southern. I would suggest you check where other reviewers who enjoyed it are from. There was too much oil involved for our taste.

We decided to cut short our stay to one night and were offered no refund, even partial for the unused night.

It's nice, if the above constraints work for you. I'm just not sure it deserves the No.1 rating in Banner Elk.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Swaz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jslowery, Owner at The Inn at Elk River, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

All of us at the Inn at Elk River appreciate your feedback & review of our inn & our wonderful innkeeper, Darlene! We appreciate your feedback to help us improve & we sincerely welcome your comments, good and bad. Of course, I am sure you know we have no control over Google maps, but we are close to downtown. In addition, our Innkeeper had no idea why you departed early & our refund policy is very fair & clearly posted on our website & brochures.

However, if you had asked, Darlene would have been glad to drive you to dinner & then pick you up, which she often does for our guests of our B&B. This "value added service" is part of the reason for our great reviews by our guests, as well as #1 ranking by Trip Advisor, I am sure.

Thank you so much for your stay & please consider a return visit in the near future to our B&B inn on your next visit to Banner Elk! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

On a whim we took off for the mountains and happened upon the Inn. We were very pleased with our room and quietness of the Inn. We stayed in a room with fireplace and enjoyed relaxing and watching the fire. Darlene is a wonderful innkeeper and makes a great breakfast-french toast-yummy!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jslowery, Owner at The Inn at Elk River, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

All of us at the Inn at Elk River appreciate your feedback & review of our inn & our wonderful innkeeper, Darlene! We appreciate your feedback to help us improve & we welcome your comments, good and bad. Thank you so much for your stay & please consider a return visit in the near future to our B&B inn on your next visit to Banner Elk! Thank you again! Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Inn is a wonderful place to stay. It is cozy and comfortable. The food is great and the breakfast is fabulous. I love the views from every room and the warm fireplace in the gathering room. Thanks to Darlene who is a perfect innkeeper and a caring person.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Jim4704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jslowery, Owner at The Inn at Elk River, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

All of us at the Inn at Elk River appreciate your feedback & review of our inn & our wonderful innkeeper, Darlene! We appreciate your feedback to help us improve & we welcome your comments, good and bad. Thank you so much for your stay & please consider a return visit in the near future to our B&B inn on your next visit to Banner Elk! Thank you again! Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I've written before about how wonderful this Bed and Breakfast is, and have to tell you how pleasantly suprised I was that months after my visit, I opened up the mailbox back home and they had sent me a nice Christmas card, once again thanking us for visiting.

I planned on returning anyway, but this only makes me want to gas up the truck and go sooner!

Room Tip: I prefer the upper floor, because the porch is not covered...but I'm a sucker for a fantastic vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jslowery, Owner at The Inn at Elk River, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

All of us at the Inn at Elk River appreciate your feedback & review of our inn & our wonderful innkeeper, Darlene! We appreciate your feedback to help us improve & we welcome your comments, good and bad. Thank you so much for your stay & please consider a return visit in the near future to our B&B inn on your next visit to Banner Elk! Thank you again! Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
1.5 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
12.0 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
629 reviews
12.7 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#6 of 18 in Boone
404 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
472 reviews
0.9 mi away
Azalea Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Elk River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Elk River

Address: 875 Main St W, Highway 194, Banner Elk, NC 28604-7719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Banner Elk
Price Range: $151 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Elk River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Elk River in Banner Elk, NC is honored to have received a 2012, 2013 & 2014 Trip Advisor Award of Excellence! For the past several years, Trip Advisor has ranked the Inn at Elk River as one of the top rated B&B facility in the NC High Country Mountain region, an honor that Innkeeper Darlene Calvert works very hard to maintain. The Inn is always spotless clean and fresh. The Inn has 8 rooms with private baths and a beautiful view of the NC mountains from the deck outside each room. Four of the eight rooms have working fireplaces for cool, cozy evenings. Room rates include a full breakfast for two prepared and served fresh each morning. The Inn at Elk River is an inviting Williamsburg Inn that has been owned and operated by three couples since 1996; John and Malinda Lowery, Bill and Loretta Dodgen and Richard and Ann Miller. Come and enjoy every season in Banner Elk N.C. As The Inn at Elk River is open year round and the hospitality will surpass your expectations. Come see for yourself why The Inn at Elk River has been highly rated as one of the best B&B's in the NC mountains by TripAdvisor for the past deveral years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn at Elk River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing