We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to add this...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Elk River
Ranked #1 of 8 Banner Elk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Had to add this...”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I've written before about how wonderful this Bed and Breakfast is, and have to tell you how pleasantly suprised I was that months after my visit, I opened up the mailbox back home and they had sent me a nice Christmas card, once again thanking us for visiting.

I planned on returning anyway, but this only makes me want to gas up the truck and go sooner!

Room Tip: I prefer the upper floor, because the porch is not covered...but I'm a sucker for a fantastic vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jslowery, Owner at The Inn at Elk River, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
All of us at the Inn at Elk River appreciate your feedback & review of our inn & our wonderful innkeeper, Darlene! We appreciate your feedback to help us improve & we welcome your comments, good and bad. Thank you so much for your stay & please consider a return visit in the near future to our B&B inn on your next visit to Banner Elk! Thank you again! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    19
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
110
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We only stayed one night and have been to banner elk area many times. This is a hidden jewel we were glad to find. We will definitely be back. Enjoyed the home feel and the fireplaces. Christmas tree was also beautiful. The innkeeper was very helpful and offered lots of recommendations to the area.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmpkatrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jslowery, Owner at The Inn at Elk River, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Happy Holidays! All of us at the Inn at Elk River appreciate your feedback & review of our inn & our wonderful innkeeper, Darlene! We appreciate your feedback to help us improve & we welcome your comments, good and bad. Thank you so much for your stay & please consider a return visit in the near future to our B&B inn on your next visit to Banner Elk! Thank you again! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg, South Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Our visit in October of 2013 was our second stay at the Inn at Elk River. My husband and I had visited this beautiful and friendly Inn to celebrate our anniversary in June of 2013. At that time, he was recovering from major surgery and we appreciated the special care we received. When my elderly parents wanted "one more trip" to the mountains, we thought of this lovely Bed and Breakfast and the unbeatable care and hospitality that Darlene, the Innkeeper, most generously provides. We were given adjoining rooms and every consideration for our comfort and enjoyment was extended to each of us. Breakfast is always a treat as are the afternoon snacks. There are many worthwhile "day trips" within easy driving distance. We hope to enjoy another stay in the near future!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jslowery, Owner at The Inn at Elk River, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We are glad to have so many awesome guests like you that continue to come back to visit us! Thank you so much for your kind comments about our Innkeepr, Darlene & your stay at the Inn at Elk River! Please tell all of your friends & please come back to our B&B inn on your next return to Banner Elk! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The Inn at Elk River is a great place to stay. It is close to the Blue Ridge Parkway, shopping, restaurants and skiing. The inn keeper, Darlene, is very friendly and eager to make your stay a pleasant one. I look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a fireplace if you visit in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jslowery, Owner at The Inn at Elk River, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We are glad to have so many awesome guests like you that continue to come back to visit us! Thank you so much for your kind comments about our Innkeepr, Darlene & your stay at the Inn at Elk River! Please tell all of your friends & please come back to our B&B inn on your next return to Banner Elk! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have been staying at The Inn at Elk River for almost 10 years and seen the innkeepers change 3 or 4 times. The current innkeeper,Darlene, is without a doubt the best. She is very friendly, helpful, attentive and truly shows that she cares about her guests. She goes out of her way to make your stay enjoyable and provides information on the current events and restaurants in the area so that you get the whole experience. The balconies have great views of the mountains. The breakfasts were really good. Nice job, Darlene, we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jslowery, Owner at The Inn at Elk River, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We are glad to have so many awesome guests like you that continue to come back to visit us! Thank you so much for your kind comments about our Innkeepr, Darlene & your stay at the Inn at Elk River! Please tell all of your friends & please come back to our B&B inn on your next return to Banner Elk! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have nothing but praise for this inn. From the moment you pull up at the property, until the moment you depart, Darlene (the innkeeper) is kind and attentive. The views are unparalleled. The smell of fresh brownies fills the air every afternoon, and the breakfast can only be described as gourmet. The rooms are all so welcoming (we were the first guests to arrive and took a tour). Our room felt so much like home, that comfort and sound sleep were never an issue.

Aside from these praises, I can't emphasize the value enough. I was in town for homecoming at Lees McRae College, and shopped other B&B's, as well as chain hotels from Blowing Rock to Beech Mountain before deciding on Elk River. My two night stay was the same price as one night in chain hotels in Boone. I couldn't believe it! Needless to say, we will be back when ski season begins. Keep up the great work! -Daniel Turner, Fayetteville NC

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the rooms. If you're fortunate enough to find one open, don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jslowery, Owner at The Inn at Elk River, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We are glad to have so many awesome guests like you! Thank you so much for your kind comments & stay at the Inn at Elk River! Please tell all of your friends & please come back to our B&B inn on your next return to Banner Elk! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Inn at Elk River for one night, while traveling the Blue Ridge Parkway. We had a wonderful stay! Darlene, the innkeeper, could not have been any nicer or helpful. The inn was clean, comfortable, and relaxing. We stayed in a king room, which was very comfortable. Darlene cooked us breakfast, and the omelette was one of the best I've ever had. If we had more time, we would have stayed longer. If we are ever back in the area, we will for sure stay at the Inn at Elk River!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddy021807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jslowery, Owner at The Inn at Elk River, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments & stay at the Inn at Elk River! Please tell all of your friends & please come back to our B&B inn on your next return to Banner Elk! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
1.5 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
12.8 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
453 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Lodge at River Run
The Lodge at River Run
#2 of 9 in Banner Elk
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Taylor House Inn
Taylor House Inn
#3 of 6 in Valle Crucis
274 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Shady Lawn Lodge
The Shady Lawn Lodge
#1 of 3 in Newland
183 reviews
0.9 mi away
Azalea Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Elk River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Elk River

Property: The Inn at Elk River
Address: 875 Main St W, Highway 194, Banner Elk, NC 28604-7719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at Elk River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Elk River in Banner Elk, NC is honored to have received a 2012, 2013 & 2014 Trip Advisor Award of Excellence! For the past several years, Trip Advisor has ranked the Inn at Elk River as one of the top rated B&B facility in the NC High Country Mountain region, an honor that Innkeeper Darlene Calvert works very hard to maintain. The Inn is always spotless clean and fresh. The Inn has 8 rooms with private baths and a beautiful view of the NC mountains from the deck outside each room. Four of the eight rooms have working fireplaces for cool, cozy evenings. Room rates include a full breakfast for two prepared and served fresh each morning. The Inn at Elk River is an inviting Williamsburg Inn that has been owned and operated by three couples since 1996; John and Malinda Lowery, Bill and Loretta Dodgen and Richard and Ann Miller. Come and enjoy every season in Banner Elk N.C. As The Inn at Elk River is open year round and the hospitality will surpass your expectations. Come see for yourself why The Inn at Elk River has been highly rated as one of the best B&B's in the NC mountains by TripAdvisor for the past deveral years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your The Inn at Elk River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing