We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Guests”
Review of Smoketree Lodge

Smoketree Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Smoketree Lodge
Reviewed July 9, 2008

I discovered the Smoketree Lodge in a quest for somewhere to stay over 4th of July weekend that didn't require a 3 night minimum (there's a huge Hog Roasting event in Sugar Mtn we visit that attracts lots of tourists). It turned out to be a great discovery.

The hotel looked dated and a little reminiscent of the Bates Hotel (on a seemingly lonely highway in the middle of nowhere), but the price was excellent. We checked in late on Friday and woke up Saturday to discover what a great little place we'd found. Banner Elk is just around the corner, the front desk staff was very helpful in giving us directions/recommendations, and the indoor pool was great! Everything is a bit dated, but very clean and completely worth the price.

We've stayed at the Smoketree on three separate occassions now and have not been disappointed. If you're looking for high-style, stay at the Best Western in Banner Elk (and pay three times as much). But if you're looking for somewhere simple with lots of space (the rooms are huge), then this is the deal for you!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Walkinboots3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 50 of 50 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2008

Stayed at Smoketree Lodge March 25 - 28, 2008 with husband and kids (15 and 10). Neighbors with kids the same age as ours joined us for the trip. We each got a one bedroom with a small kitchenette. Bed was very comfortable. Place is dated but not in a bad way. It was clean and VERY affordable.

The pool was good size (make sure you bring your own beach towels). I found the hot tub a little too hot but the teens enjoyed it. Husband liked the workout room.

I enjoyed the Lodge area which had a pool table, pinball machine and two video games. There is also a huge fireplace and big screen TV. Coffee is available at the Lodge which is a nice touch. There were plenty of puzzles and game to play which we all enjoyed.

Folks at the front desk and very nice and helpful. Security patrols the place at night and I felt safe.

We are planning on going here again next year. Wonderful time.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank FamilyFunVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2008

The Smoketree Lodge hotel is situated between Banner Elk, NC, and Boone, NC. I happened to book this hotel because I was skiing at nearby Sugar Mountain (which was a 5 minute drive away) and also for the fact that this hotel was the only one I was able to find that could fit my party together (6 people). One note about this booking; however, is that you cannot book reservations for this hotel online. You must call the hotel office to arrange a stay.

I was able to book a 2 bedroom unit for the 4 days I was in town. Check-in time was 4pm but I arrived a few minutes early. The staff greeted my professionally and I was able to check-in without any hassle.

After checking in, I took a quick tour of the hotel. Next to the lobby is a "gameroom" which is composed of 2 video game consoles from the late '90s (Leaderboard '97, and Samiri 3) and a pool table which cost about $1 per game.

On the bottom floor is the fitness area. The swimming pool and jacuzzi were decent and the gym some cardio equipment and a small nautilus machine. I peeked in to the locker room and saw a sauna, but didn't try it. The locker room was a bit nasty so I didn't stay long. NOTE: the hotel gives out towels for the pool/jaccuzi; however, you must go to the front desk to get the towel. They don't leave them by the pool like most other hotels do. Also, they seem to run out of towels late into the evening so it's possible that there may not be any towels available to you.

My initial impression of the hotel was that it was very old. The floors creaked with every step, the wallpaper was extremely dated, and the walls were in need of a new paint job. My hotel suite was a 2 bedroom unit with a kitchenette and bathroom. One bedroom had a queen bed, and the other had 2 twin beds. A pull-out couch was in the living room. A small dinette set was next to the kitchen.

The bathroom was well worn and needed a total make-over. Maid service was basically non-existent during our stay. The only thing they did was swap out towels each day. They didn't clean the bathroom once during our stay. I think extra maid service had to be requested at the front desk but I didn't bother.

As for the kitchen, it had a small stove/oven, a microwave, fridge, and plenty of pots, pans, dishes, and silverware. No problems were noticed with the kitchen.

Overall, the staff was friendly, and the room served its purpose. It's evident that the hotel management does not put profits back into the hotel, however. If this hotel were to get a major renovation, it could really look nice.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phatman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aprilstern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
2.7 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
9.9 mi away
Sleep Inn Boone
Sleep Inn Boone
#5 of 18 in Boone
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Inn at Elk River
The Inn at Elk River
#1 of 8 in Banner Elk
187 reviews
5.0 mi away
Four Seasons at Beech
Four Seasons at Beech
#2 of 2 in Beech Mountain
68 reviews
5.0 mi away
Valle Crucis Farm
Valle Crucis Farm
#6 of 9 in Banner Elk
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smoketree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smoketree Lodge

Address: 11914 Nc Highway 105 S, between Boone and Banner Elk, Banner Elk, NC 28604-8667
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Banner Elk
Price Range: $70 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smoketree Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Smoketree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smoketree Hotel Banner Elk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing