We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service make you feel welcomed”

Bayou Smokehouse & Grill
Ranked #6 of 48 Restaurants in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Open since 2003, The Bayou offers Authentic Cajun and Texas Cuisine served in a casual, comfortable atmosphere. Outdoor, dog-friendly deck dining in the summer, fireplace dining in the winter. Free WiFi, Children's Menu and Wine Amnesty available. Adjacent Bayou General Store offering Beer, Wine, Locally Made Items, Souvenir Mementos and more. Please see the Bayou Smokehouse & Grill, Banner Elk Facebook Page for Specials, Live Music, Events and area information.
Cape Coral, FL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Service make you feel welcomed”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Food was nothing I haven't had elsewhere, but the help were just great and personalbe. Which is hard to find any where's today. Drinks good but pricey.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank granitegriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    137
    64
    32
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheboro, NC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“GREAT Texas BBQ and a great place to take your pooch”
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Had a fantastic time at this great place - sat on the deck with our dog and were welcomed with open arms. She even got a bowl of water and her picture taken for the deck dog gallery ... food was fantastic, great choices for side items, too many beers to choose from - something like 40 kinds on tap and 60 in the bottle! Highly recommend ...

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kelgdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Glad we Went”
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Went here on our last night before heading home. Should have come earlier in the trip so we could have made several visits. The menu was extensive, the service was good, and the the food was very good (I had the BBQ chicken and my wife had the ribs)...certainly up to the standands we've gotten used to back in Houston. And to top it off, the restaurant is attached to a convenience store, making it handy to pick up a six-pack of my favorite local brew. Would go back again and would certainly recommend to anyone looking for a very good, casual meal in Banner Elk.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank westtexgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
253 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Would drive back to eat here”
Reviewed January 29, 2011

This restaurant gets an A+ all around. The food, service and atmosphere are superb. The menu is extensive with lots to choose from. The alligator balls are a great start to any meal. I enjoyed the jumbalaya. It had just enough cajun kick without being too hot. Unfortunately, my husband and I had eaten too much lunch so we couldn't clean our plates. Our waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu and answered all of our questions with confidence. My husband tried several of the local beers that they had stocked. This place is a true asset to the area!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As good as Cajun gets”
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Absolutely amazing, the food was as good as some Cajun food I had in Biloxi, MS. The Ribs were amazing, fall off the bone, and they give you a bottle of BBQ sauce in case you want extra. The food had some spice to it, different levels of heat for different foods. Shrimp and grits were great. The "Alligator Balls" were very delicious. Large selection of beer and wine. Fast and friendly service. Awesome prices, good bang for your buck. Well worth a try. I will be visiting again in my future trips to Banner Elk.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SmashTheGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayou Smokehouse & Grill also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Bayou Smokehouse & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing