We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding party”
Review of Jackalope's View

Jackalope's View
Ranked #24 of 48 Restaurants in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Jackalope's View and The Vault Bar are located halfway up Beech Mountain and Boasts one of the most beautiful views you could have. Downstairs is a culinary treat with upscale and fine dining choices, while upstairs in our Vault Bar provides a casual dining atmosphere and full bar. The Vault is currently open Thursday through Saturday from 5:00p until 2:00 am business permitting. Jackalopes is open Thursday through Monday from 5:00pm until 9:30pm. Reservations are encouraged for Jackalope's. Jackalope's View Is Now Open For Breakfast! 7:30AM to 10:30AM!!
Malvern, Ohio
1 review
“wedding party”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My daughter and new son in law had their wedding dinner at Jackalopes today.There was about 30 of us there. The view was amazing, the staff friendly, and the food divine although the service was slow with a couple of small mix-ups but that was quite understandable with such a large group. The shrimp and grits were amazing and most of us Ohioans don't normally like grits. The Robert and asparagus ,Bibb salad, and the bananas foster all were perfect too. The other guests had no complaints about their entres either! I am so glad my daughter chose to go there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    47
    27
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“TOO COLD!!! BRRRR!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have been waiting for an opportunity to visit Jackalope's View for dinner. We made a reservation (which, by the way, was not needed). The view of the sunset was magnificent! We had the nut crusted mountain lake trout and it was delicious! However, I know it is winter and I know that it was very cold outside. BUT, the dining room was frigid. All of the diners had to put their coats back on. My husband went to the car to get hand warmers! I know that the waitress was busy with four or five tables and she was quite warm since she was moving about. I asked her twice to "bump" the heat up and maybe she did, but we never really felt it. So, the view of the mountain sunset was beautiful and the food was delicious. I would go again, but not when it is so cold.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mstein2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archers_Mountain_Inn, Owner at Jackalope's View, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We are so glad you liked the food, and the view. BUT apologize it was cold. Even with the glass wall we typically can keep the dining room cozy. We look forward to seeing you again! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

my wife and i had an amazing meal.thank you for making our aniversery perfect.we look forward to spending many more with you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank member8585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Over priced and rude staff”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

It was a beautiful snowy day and our family with small kids decided to visit the restaurant. On our way walking in, we nearly got run over by a car that came so close to us and hit our things we were carrying. Then the man yelled out the window to tell us to not keep the road clear for traffic (which there weren't any) We walked into the restaurant to have dinner and told the receptionist what just happened. She said it was probably the maintenance man. Despite this horror, we decided to eat dinner here. The food took long to come out, we had to ask for service many times, food was cold. The food was overpriced and not work the $20 + per entree.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shadow2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archers_Mountain_Inn, Owner at Jackalope's View, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
We wanted to respond to your recent review and ensure you, in fact, have the correct restaurant. We do hate that anyone would have been rude to you in the parking lot but we don't have a maintenance man. We also have many entrees under $20. We always welcome feedback in person and would be glad to speak to you if you want to contact us.

Thanks, Candi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banner Elk, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The View or the Meal? We had both!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Our party of 11 had a great time and an even greater meal last night at Jackalope's View. Sitting beside a wall of windows overlooking a beautiful snow covered landscape of mountains and valleys, we were treated to prompt and courteous service by our waiter, Joe, who made sure our party had everything we needed. He didn't mind repeating the specials and other information for each couple in our party, and he made sure the bar service was fast and accurate. Then the owner of this wonderful restaurant and B&B, Gloria, came to our table and made us feel like family. She made sure that we were being taken care of, and we were! We all got our meals which included several special requests, and couldn't have been more pleased. After we had time to try our meals, the Chef, Judd, came to our table, and confirmed that each and everyone was pleased with his efforts. We all were. Everyone in our party agreed that we will make a point of returning, to this location right outside of Banner Elk, NC, between Beech and Sugar Mountains.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MtnMan7863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackalope's View also viewed

Beech Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Beech Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Jackalope's View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing