We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What You Pay For!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“You Get What You Pay For!”
Reviewed November 26, 2008

It could have been worse but this Best Western has some challenges.

Foremost, it wasn’t super dirty but it could have been cleaner. The cleaning staff needs to pay attention to details. Perception is everything.

The walls are too thin. You can hear practically everything your “neighbors” are doing.

This may sound particular but I like eye-pleasing soft white light. Upon arrival, the room lit up an ugly office under a fluorescent haze.

I can understand why management would want to use long life “green” light bulbs but if it’s at the expense of quality lighting, it’s not worth it.

I ran out to the local Lowes and purchase soft white lights for my room.

I also think the “lodge” portion of the property is a bit misleading. The lobby/reception area does not have a lodge feel. Again, details are everything.

If the bottom line is, would you stay again, I probably would not.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    211
    105
    32
    16
See reviews for
247
198
28
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brevard NC
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2008

We were taking a couple of days to see the area and our friends have a small dog. The motel is easy to find and had a few pet friendly rooms (our friends paid more because of extra care taken to ensure cleanliness). Which I think is reasonable. The motel had designated pet walk area - and we did see several people walking small dogs.
I usually judge a motel/hotel by the smell and ambience of the lobby. This one was clean (no strong cleaner odors) and friendly with fireplace, and adjoining restaurant. Our rooms were very nice and clean with two full sized beds each, extra towels, etc. Very comfortable. About an hour after checking in, got a call asking if our rooms were ok and if we needed anything. What a nice touch!
(My only concern was the front desk clerk while checking us in - took a phone call and answered every question conceivable about the area, ammenities, etc. (at least 10 minutes or so while we waited) we thought he should have asked the caller to let him call back or the motel should have had an extra person available for such information calls). Had breakfast in the adjoining restaurant - food was good - a little slow (not enough help maybe). The pool was closed of course, but was large and the entire area was very clean and well kept. All in all - I found this to be a great motel and recommend it.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — na
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTraveler0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
479 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2008

We recently moved from Western PA to the Hilton Head, SC, area. The Lowcountry, with its endless sunshine and relatively warm weather, is a great place to live, but we missed being able to quickly head over to the ski resorts as we did up North. The closest place to which we could drive in six hours or so was Banner Elk, NC, a nice little town not far from Boone and Blowing Rock. We skied Sugar Mountain, which is much more convenient to get to, particularly in bad weather, than Beech. Sugar hasn't the number of slopes, lifts or facilities as does Seven Springs, for example, and it's certainly no Vale or the like, but it's concentrated, cozy, challenging enough, and a very reasonable deal. We stayed at a nearby Best Western, which is quite adequate and reasonably-priced (under $90) during the week. Although there are a number of very good restaurants around the area, we recommend the nearby Banner Elk Cafe and its sister restaurant - good food, friendly people, an excellent value. We plan to rent a place at the Sugar Mountain resort during the summer, when it's a little too hot in Hilton Head. Ski in the winter, motorcycle in the summer. Do it all around Banner Elk!

  • Liked — Convenient to the ski resorts
  • Disliked — Nothing special rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian in New York
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2008

My husband stayed here when checking our son into college but was so appalled that they checked out after one night. Dirty, noisy (they could here the toilet being flushed next door) and overpriced with bad food. There are many nice B&B's in the area, don't bother with the best Western.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2007

I had stayed here a couple of years ago and had a pleasant stay so had no qualms about staying here again. When we checked in the girl at the desk wasn't very friendly but that was OK. Our room was nice and clean and the beds comfortable. I liked having the sink separate from the shower and toilet. We had a non-smoking room at the back on the first floor (there are no elevators) so it was quiet. Had a nice view of the mountains. Breakfast does not come with the room unless you get a package or pay extra, but we found a bakery in town that was very good. Check-out was easy, but no more friendly than check-in. I will definately stay there again!

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — One unfriendly staffmember
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwalker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2007

My husband and I waited too long to book a hotel for my brother's graduation from ASU in Boone so we looked outward and found The Best Western Mountain Lodge in Banner Elk. After a 15-20 minute, pleasant drive from Boone after dinner, we got there around 10pm. The hotel did have a very Mountain Lodge feel with a cozy lobby and a restaurant. The room was very clean and roomy (for a hotel room) the bed very comfortable, the bathroom furniture was unusally nice and the shower was clean and wonderful. This property also has some rooms
where pets are allowed as well but carefully delineates which rooms are pet and which are non-pet. We had breakfast down the street at a log cabin cafe before hitting the road - Banner Elk is a beautiful community and I wish we could have stayed in western NC longer!

  • Liked — Very comfortable and lodge-y
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCattheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2007

First let me say, I would stay here again. However there were a few bumps. We loved our room, but found lipstick on one of the coffee mugs. Our room was located on the bottom floor near the stairs and every time someone from upstairs wheeled down their luggage we would here the thump, thump, thump as the suitcase landed on each stair - for that reason I would request a room away from the stairs. Probably my biggest gripe is that the hotel doesn't have an elevator but charges more for the first floor rooms. That doesn't seem fair to the people who might not be able to handle stairs.
Again, I would stay here again, but for the reasons I mentioned, I'm only giving 3 stars.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eswau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
11.7 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
11.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
10.3 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
355 reviews
23.2 mi away
Skyline Village Inn
Skyline Village Inn
#2 of 2 in Little Switzerland
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk

Property: Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
Address: 1615 Tynecastle Hwy, Banner Elk, NC 28604-9708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Banner Elk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience outstanding customer service and convenient access to the Blue Ridge Mountains, Lee's McRae College and more at this pet-friendly Banner Elk, North Carolina hotel. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk where guests will find friendly customer service, newly updated guest rooms and convenient access to a variety of Western North Carolina attractions. This Banner Elk area hotel boasts 100 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television and wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to take advantage of a variety of hotel amenities including an seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool, guest laundry, fitness center, picnic area, business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 200 guests. The BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk is the only pet-friendly hotel in the area. Guests staying at this Blue Ridge Mountain hotel will have convenient access to a variety of outdoor activities including skiing and snowboarding at Sugar Mountain, hiking in the Blue Ridge Mountains, horseback riding and golfing. Families visiting the area will enjoy spending the day at the Orchards at Alta Pass or the Tweetsie Railroad Amusement Park. Grandfather Mountain, just nine miles from the hotel, provides scenic nature trails and ideal picnic areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Mountain Lodge At Banner Elk Hotel Banner Elk
Best Western Banner Elk
Banner Elk Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing