We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found by accident, what great luck!!!”

Grandfather Vineyard & Winery
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Found by accident, what great luck!!!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We just saw the sign as we passed and turned around and went back. What a find! Good to very good wines, cheap tasting, and fabulous setting! Dont forget to ask about the Wine Club. Marissa (sp?) was great at the pouring counter. Lovely setting by the river, cute gift shop and reasonable and good wines. Definitely would highly recommend!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Drslowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    64
    14
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A taste of the mountains”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This winery and vineyard is a must see! If you want to have a great glass of wine in a beautiful setting and enjoy the mountain scenery, this is the place for you! It is tucked back in the mountains along the river. My husband and I bought a bottle of wine and enjoyed it while our three children played along the bank of the river and also with the owners dogs. Such a relaxing family atmosphere! We especially like the legacy Chardonnay that they produce. Although we did not try all of their wines, many are award-winning. We arrived anticipating to only buy one bottle, instead we drink that bottle there and left with two more! A wonderful way to support the local economy and small business owners. Fabulous time was had by our entire family!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RitaBaratta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Skyrocketing”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This little, beautiful, winery is on the way to elite quality status. It is very much a family venture, in a lovely creek-side setting. On a previous visit, I had enjoyed, but not been highly impressed by, its produce. However, with the help of the enology and viticulture program of Appalachian State University in nearby Boone, these guys are making some really good wine. On this visit, my wife and I were especially impressed with the recently produced "Scholar" red and "Legacy" Chardonnay - the latter especially significant, because neither of us usually like Chardonnay in its typical American form.
More important than this visit is the fact that it looks like this little winery is developing a quality distinction that could set it far apart from most anything in this section of N.C.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxation at Grandfather!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The owners make you feel at home. Love the atmosphere. A must stop if your in the area. Great wine. The owners welcome dogs. Great place for a vineyard wedding and reception. Lots of privacy. You'll return again and again!

Helpful?
1 Thank Leeann D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Evans, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is a quaint little winery to visit and the wines tasted good but at $6 for a tasting that barely gives you 1/3 a glass of wine it is pricey. While it was nice to keep the wine glass which is pretty much what you are paying for, I certainly didn't need it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoannH906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandfather Vineyard & Winery also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Linville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Grandfather Vineyard & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing