We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint”

Grandfather Vineyard & Winery
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Evans, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is a quaint little winery to visit and the wines tasted good but at $6 for a tasting that barely gives you 1/3 a glass of wine it is pricey. While it was nice to keep the wine glass which is pretty much what you are paying for, I certainly didn't need it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoannH906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    58
    12
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A repeat pleasure”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Stopped on a busy Saturday afternoon during peak leaf season and had a wonderful afternoon. Busy , but since we've done the tasting a few times we just bought a bottle and sat by the fire pit for a while. Love that you can walk through the vines and take some great pictures while enjoying a glass (or a few) of their wine. Easy location to get to and a great variety of wines for all palates. Some great awards recently--- congrats.
We remembered to bring some snacks, but would be great even if they had some cheeses, etc for sale. Always part of our visit to NC high country.

Helpful?
1 Thank ready4longvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Relax and stay awhile”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We arrived just as the place was opening on a Saturday. We sat outside by the fire pit and chatted with the owner/husband of the winery who was very pleasant but not overly chatty. The owners 2 black labs are very friendly. The scenery is lovely, with a small creek on one side and the grapes climbing up the other side on the mountain. The tasting area is not large so that might frustrate some on a really busy day, but we were there as were 2 other couples and conversation and wine tasting flowed freely. A very relaxed atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ljcook20003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, NC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful, worth the visit”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Located right next to a beautiful stream - the sunlight dances over the stream on a nice sunny day! They don't have much along the lines of a sweet wine, but the scenery alone is worth the visit. Have a wine tasting, and bring a picnic and enjoy the environment.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Masongirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
134 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice "couples stop" on a High Country weekend”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Is this the greatest winery in the world, with the greatest wines? Nah. Is this a destination visit that you should drive way out of your way for? Nah, again. Is this a nice afternoon stop, as you're driving by, for you and your significant other, as you're visiting the High Country.......bingo! In fact, as they apparently serve no food, pick up take outs along the way, buy your bottle of wine, grab an outdoor table outback, or a coupe Adirondack chairs down by the creek, and enjoy.

And hey, if you want to pick up a local gift for the folks back home, buy a bottle, stick it in the car, and support an up and coming vintner.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandfather Vineyard & Winery also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Linville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Grandfather Vineyard & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing