We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”
Review of Smokey's Smoke House - CLOSED

Smokey's Smoke House
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Good Food”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Most bbq restaurants have their own touches. The sauces do vary, the food is good, the facilities are clean and service has been excellent. It is family friendly and great for the grand kids. Prices are reasonable for the market.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    25
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“OK, but not worth going out of the way for”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Had an early supper there in June 2013. The dining room had about five tables of guests, but somehow, my drink kept running dry, and my non-verbal indications that I was withering from lack of water were seldom heeded by the waitress who seemed to be in no particular hurry to do much of anything at all. The pulled pork was good. There was a satisfactory selection of side items from which to choose. I am a native North Carolinian and a hush-puppy aficionado, so I had heard some time ago about Frontier's cheese jalapeno hush puppies and their green onion hush puppies. I ordered both types. The hush puppies were of the large spherical variety which don't cook all the way through and remain doughy in the center, and not like most other North Carolina hush puppies I've met which are elongated and cook well throughout. The cheese and jalapeno hush puppies were all right but frankly unimpressive. The green onion hush puppies were even more of a letdown. Biting into a green onion hush puppy, one might see two little green dots which might have been part of a green onion at one time. Both kinds of hush puppies were made bearable by the cinnamon butter that was supplied with them. The cinnamon butter was actually pretty good. I might just order that next time. So overall, decent meat and sides, fair pups and service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CalebRochling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Took the recommendation of a friend, it was off the beaten path but amazing. Had pulled pork dinner plate with mac and cheese and sweet potato fries. All were fabulous! Outstanding portion sizes, food was home cooked. Waiter was so personable. Prices were great! Would definitely eat here again, no doubt.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jecbd43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We've driven by this place plenty of times on previous visits to the High Country but never given it a try till this year. Had no idea what to expect. Attractive enough inside and out and seemed to have a good representation of locals, usually a good sign. Three of us had the pulled pork sandwich which was quite tasty and had what must have been a homemade sauce. Fries were okay but the cole slaw was outstanding. Wife had the Mahi Mahi fish and chips and it was outstanding. Also a nice wine and beer list with great local and regional beer selections. Price was what we expected and service was attentive and friendly. Nice place to take a family and I expect we'll be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3lionsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delicious, authentic southern food”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

If you are hungry for authentic southern barbeque, this is the place to go. The pulled pork was tender and tasty and their homemade barbeque sauces were delicious. The spoon bread, baked beans and fried okra were wonderful. The service was friendly and efficient. The dining room was nice and they have a beautiful deck by the pond and water wheel for outside dining. They offer a nice variety of wines and beers. The desserts are homemade and looked delicious. We were too full from our great dinner to try one. Next time!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ddieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokey's Smoke House also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing