We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Very Nice!”
Review of Blue Ridge Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Ridge Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We just returned from a week here and absolutely loved the accommodations -- very roomy and newly renovated. The only drawbacks were the thin walls others have mentioned and the slow internet. The thin walls were only a problem one night when the guests next door stayed up until 2 AM and were talking/laughing loudly. Fortunately, we were in an end unit and the bedroom walls are outside walls. I was only disturbed because I chose to stay up late reading in the living area. Regarding the internet, we had hoped to stream some movies, but the internet was so slow it was impossible. I realize that this may be beyond BRV's control, but I think it would have been nice to know before coming. Overall, the location of BRV was ideal for us -- just a quarter mile to Food Lion and coffee shop -- and centrally located for all of the activities we enjoyed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brudude120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 305 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

I've stayed at this place twice. Both times we were in a renovated condo, which is great. There were very few people around the first time so did not notice the noise that much. The last time was much more crowded and not ideal. The walls are paper thin which means you can hear your neighbors sneeze, cough, laugh, talking, walking (or thundering down the halls is more like it), and flushing the toilet.

The grounds are nice and great location in Banner Elk but to me it is not worth the money for poorly insulated walls. It is comparable to being in the same room as your neighbors.

The time share presentation is not ideal and is hard to avoid without being forced to pay additional fees.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NChotelrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I never write reviews but for this one it was a must!!! This is a fantastic resort!! Must stay in superior room as they are absolutely gorgeous with everything you can imagine....even a washer and dryer!! And the staff was just a joy. Really friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again when we go back to the mountains for skiing this winter.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genlotapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I had a terrible experience.

I purchased a 3 day weekend from a sales agent that called me. I paid $200 -- the same price as they were advertising on Groupon at the time (I figured purchasing directly from them would mean they keep more of the money, ie better for the resort).

What a mistake.

After booking they called me and asked me to attend a sales presentation. I said I'd try.

We went hiking that day, got a little lost, and didn't make it back in time for the sales presentation.

The minute I got home, another sales rep called me up and said they were charging my credit card $250 for not attending the presentation! What a scam. I was never made aware of the charge and would never have agreed to it. Unreal. I mean, what if you got sick, or someone in your family got sick, or a family member died, or you had a car accident that day, or even couldn't make it up that weekend (work, weather, for any reason)? Completely unreasonable, especially given that I had paid full market price for the weekend (ie it wasn't free and the money was non-refundable -- I was told that on the phone).

So, buyer beware, Festiva simply isn't trustworthy.

I would strictly avoid giving them your credit card -- buy through groupon, expedia or any online site if you simply have to deal with Festiva.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated condo (they are actually pretty nice inside, but the walls are paper thin -- I c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GerryL49092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Bought a Groupon for a two bedroom Superior room. Great value, beautiful place. I believe the condo was newly renovated and the decor was very nice. The condo was quite large and had room to spare. Resort was quiet and had wonderful amenities like an indoor pool, tennis courts, pond with paddle boats, basketball "court", etc. Would definitely stay there again if we were in the area. Only reason they didn't get 5 stars was the check-in and check-out process could have been smoother. We had booked over a month in advance for Memorial Day weekend and when I tried to check in upon arrival I was told they had no record of my reservation. I was almost turned away and they were fully booked! Only after showing my confirmation email AND insisting that I had a reservation did the receptionist finally find my reservation, claiming it was a glitch in the system. Check out went fine except that the receptionist was on the phone while helping me and wasn't the most helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room. We were on the middle floor and you could definitely hear thumping up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stay at this resort year after year and sometimes like this year will spend four weeks there. I couldn't imagine a nicer place to stay. The condo's are beautiful and the resort itself has most everything you could ask for and is very well maintained. Also is convenient to shopping, grocery store, and major ski attractions and Grand Father Mountain.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Bought a Groupon certificate for this place and didn't really have high expectations...boy was I impressed when we arrived! The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was very comfortable and homey. It was very central to local attractions. Would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1511deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
1.9 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
9.6 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
650 reviews
11.1 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#4 of 18 in Boone
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
10.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 18 in Boone
419 reviews
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ridge Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ridge Village

Address: 3781 Tynecastle Hwy, Rt 1 Hwy 184, Banner Elk, NC 28604-7790
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Banner Elk
Price Range: $113 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Ridge Village 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Ridge Village is the perfect retreat from the stress and strain of everyday life. The woodsy villas are nestled in the mountains close to several ski areas and breathtaking Grandfather Mountain. Banner Elk is a vibrant mountain community with plenty of year round events for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Ridge Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ridge Village Hotel Banner Elk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing