We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This could not have been more perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banner Elk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Banner Elk Inn, B&B and Cottages
Ranked #3 of 8 Banner Elk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I spent our Valentines holiday in Banner Elk and stayed at The Banner Elk Inn, B&B and Cottages. The owner/hostess should get an award for her congeniality. Her breakfasts are superb. We even had a classical guitarist who played for the guests. The accomodations are first class. Every thing is spot on for having a memorable time in the mountains. All of Banner Elk is withing walking distance. As you would expect from any first rate place, Beverly is well versed in what is around the area and always has recommendations.

Room Tip: Beverly has rooms in the original farm house, two "duplex" rooms and if you have a group...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeverlyLait, Owner at The Banner Elk Inn, B&B and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you! You are most gracious -- and it really was a wonderful weekend ! 14 inches of snow, 60% repeat guests, and a classical guitarist playing beautiful music at breakfast time. Life is good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for The Banner Elk Inn, B&B and Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 121 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

We spent a snowy weekend in the French Provincial Cottage in January and can't say enough about it! After a long drive we arrived late at night at the cutest cottage...lights on, warmed up perfectly, with home baked cookies and bread on the table! What a treat!
The cottage was spacious, beautifully decorated, and super clean! The beds were very comfortable and the bedding was luxurious. The kitchen was well appointed and though we had no plans to cook it was nice to know for next time that we easily could have.
The inn is located in town near everything and only a short drive to Beech Mountain. Beverly was so attentive- she knew what we needed before we even knew! We had a cozy relaxing weekend and were sorry to have to go home! We will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: Cottage B was great!!!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I spent a couple of nights at this b&b and truly loved it. Miss Beverly made a great healthy breakfast. The rooms are very clean and the environment is cozy. Very close to all the outdoor activities in the area. Thank you Ms. Beverly.
Claudia and Justin

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cfontanini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Our daughter & her husband wanted to take our labs to see snow & a friend recommended Banner Elk Inn because it is pet friendly. We (4 adults and two 80 lb labs) stayed in the 2 cottages which are beautifully decorated. You would never know pets were allowed. The cottages were beyond extremely clean with no "deodorizing scent". The grounds and main house are beautiful and welcoming. Beverly is a wonderful host and served fabulous home cooked breakfasts each morning & even prepared our breakfast, a yummy breakfast casserole with potatoes,"to go" the morning we left. She has a tea room set up where hot beverages and home baked goodies were available day and evening. The weather cooperated--plenty of snow while we were there which cleared up in time for us to head home to Florida. The Banner Elk Inn is a perfect location,--not too high up into the mountains (for those of us who prefer flat land) there is a beautiful dog park directly across the street from the inn with other dog parks in the area. We are hoping to plan another trip in the spring - the grounds looked like a winter wonderland with the snow. I can only imagine how pretty they will be when flowers are in bloom.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Rowie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed at the Bark House at Banner Elk Inn last week and had a great time! We are a family of 4 (kids ages 5 and 7) and the Bark House was just perfect and a welcomed change from hotel rooms. The house is a wood lodge with a fireplace, jacuzzi tub, a lofty bedroom on the second floor that the kids loved and very close to all the attractions. We were hoping for more snow but the kids had a great time at Sugar Mountain regardless. Beverly's breakfasts are to die for, my son is still talking about her cottage cheese pancakes!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfgoldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our family of 2 adults, 2 kids spent 3 nights in the Bark House, adjacent to the Inn. It is quite sizeable, with 2 bedrooms 1.5 baths. There is a couch and love seat as well. The breakfasts were very tasty. Beverly and her cat, Macadoodle, were extremely accommodating. We will come back and stay for our next Sugar Mountain ski trip.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank sedator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful place to find refuge from this fast-paced world, this B&B is the place for you. Beverly was wonderful, the house was spotless, the rooms were quaint, and the breakfast was delicious. My wife and I got caught in a snowstorm this past visit so was sat by the fire, read, and enjoyed the relaxation. Beverly always has treats in the tea room (she even made freshly baked chocolate chip cookies! Visit this B&B, you will love it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banner Elk
1.2 mi away
Best Western Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
12.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boone
11.9 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Inn at Elk River
The Inn at Elk River
#1 of 8 in Banner Elk
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Azalea Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.2 mi away
The Lodge at River Run
The Lodge at River Run
#3 of 9 in Banner Elk
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Banner Elk Inn, B&B and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banner Elk Inn, B&B and Cottages

Address: 407 Main St E, Banner Elk, Banner Elk, NC 28604-9239
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Banner Elk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Banner Elk
Price Range: $85 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banner Elk Inn, B&B, Cottages, and Cabins -- a classic, Historic Inn, with 3 new luxurious cottages for two, a new Bark&Stone cabin for families and rental cabins. Winner of The People's Choice Award, #1 B&B in Avery County, the Inn offers perennial gardens/waterfalls & fountains/fireplaces/whirlpools/Private Baths/down comforters/cable TV/DVD library, snack bar & great breakfasts. Wireless available everywhere. In the heart of the High Country, near Grandfather Mountain, Sugar Ski Resort, Beech Mtn and Valle Crucis with easy level access. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing