We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good for a quick meal”

Nick's Restaurant and Pub
Ranked #23 of 48 Restaurants in Banner Elk
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Always good for a quick meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

A short-order restaurant and bar hangout for locals that is always a good place to get a quick meal. Great chili is a standard, especially in the cool weather. Sandwiches and salads are good. Limited menu, but good choices. Friendly staff, always helpful and cheerful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    42
    27
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
192 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Really a nice time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Looking for a place to unwind after skiing with the family. Excellent atmosphere staff was a little surprised by the Monday night rush but handled it very well. Tom our waiter handled 8 tables at once and had us all laughing. Menu had the staples for the grandkids and excellent variety for the adults not too mentioned a well stocked bar. Nice family atmosphere can't go wrong with dinner here! The the Salmon blackened it's the best.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nsenn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mills River, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Okay..not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The first time my husband and I ate there we enjoyed it. The next time we returned we had the family with us. The food was average to almost not very good. We were apalled by a woman with young children who had obviously been drinking quite a bit with her children at the bar and the children were running around all over the place. She was a local so nothing was said to her. It was very upsetting. Don't know that we'll return.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trackside
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Over rated...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Still don't understand the all the positive reviews and crowd at this place. It's just a pub. One in which the food/service took forever, and when the food finally came, it was over cooked. I believe my food poisoning which laid me up for the following three days stemmed from that lunch. So many better places, including a mexican place in the same plaza around the corner. Save some time, money, and hopefully your lunch...go some place else when in the Banner Elk area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank F1LOCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
water
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Slow service and a bit pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We waited 15 minutes for our beverage order to be taken and another 10 to receive it. Sandwich was just ok, we will pass on this one next time we are in the area

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank chippy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Restaurant and Pub also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Nick's Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing