We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little cafe with pretty good food”

The Painted Fish Cafe
Ranked #11 of 48 Restaurants in Banner Elk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Winchester, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cute little cafe with pretty good food”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stopped by chance and enjoyed this cafe. Great selection of food and pretty reasonably priced. They had a great selection for kids and the regular menu had lots of goodies to choose from. Not your every day cafe food but very enjoyable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 136JuliaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    86
    37
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Went from good to not so good”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Went to the Painted Fish Cafe for the third time this season. While the previous two times were good enough to bring me back this time was disappointing, primarily because of the poor service. The service was slow and the meal they brought me was not prepared the way i had asked.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timvoight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamison, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They Just dont Give a Damn !!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My son, wife and I ate there last Saturday. Service was Pushy, meal tasted very good. Within 1 hour, my wife and I were suffering from Food Poisoning, which killed our night. We both had the Exact same meal, Greek salad with Salmon. The next day we went back to let them know that we had a problem , which we thought would be appreciated by the kitchen to look for something going bad. But, we were called liars and asked to leave.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very interesting restaurant”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Casual décor with excellent food. The Chocolate Torte was to die for. Trout for main course with grits and collard greens with lemon butter was outstanding.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great little gem”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We ate here for dinner and it was delicious. The service was a bit slow because they were so crowded, but the food was great. I had some short rib and mushroom soup which was wonderful, and my husband got the fried chicken which he said was great. We ordered dessert which is made in house, and got key lime pie and cheesecake, both of which were awesome. This is a great stop if you're in Banner Elk.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank honkeylips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Painted Fish Cafe also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Painted Fish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing