We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It saddened my wife and I to find out The Frog and The Monkey in Banner Elk has closed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Frog & the Monkey - CLOSED

The Frog & the Monkey
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Mint Hill
Level Contributor
162 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“It saddened my wife and I to find out The Frog and The Monkey in Banner Elk has closed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We do not know the details, however it saddened us deeply to find a closed sign in the window of The Frog and The Monkey two weekends ago. We wish John and his wife the best. Please let Beverly Lait at the Banner Elk Inn Bed and Breakfast and Cottages if you reopen somewhere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    24
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bigfork, Montana
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fun local food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We had dinner here after reading the Trip Advisor reviews. We had a fun meal and were surprized with banana treats with our ice cream. The monkey must have put them there.

I just checked their Facebook page and they announced on 15 May that they have closed. It is a sad loss for any community to lose a local business, even more so when it is one that is as committed to local suppliers as The Frog and The Monkey was.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Mtn, NC, USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazingingly Flavorful and Local!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

One of our favorite local restaurants! The food is always amazingingly flavorful and fresh. The meat is all locally grown and Organic. The selections are unique and selections blend well. I suggest the bok choy for a side, but my wife always orders the spicey mac & cheese! It's Hot!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank naturalcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, SC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Delicious food and great beer selection! Service was great and very personable. Highly recommended for a non-chain meal.

Helpful?
Thank bmesservy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Much more (better!) than we expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Based on a very quick read of these reviews we were expecting a very small, family friendly casual sandwich shop. This is a bit larger, and much cozier and nicer than that (and a little pricier, but worth it). We had a variety of menu items (all delicious) and our server was terrific. We were ignored for a lengthy amount of time when we walked in (a young man was at the desk doing ??? and didn't acknowledge us for a good 5 minutes which was weird since it was not crowded at all); but I'm glad we stayed because we really had a lovely meal. It's tucked away on a side street and a little hard to find, so get directions before you go.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ashsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Frog & the Monkey also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing