We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gotta go there gotta go there gotta go there gotta go there!!!”
Review of The Frog & the Monkey - CLOSED

The Frog & the Monkey
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Gotta go there gotta go there gotta go there gotta go there!!!”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We own a vacation home between Boone and Banner Elk and thought we had the low-down on every restaurant in BE...but The Frog & Monkey is relatively new, and we checked it out in May 2012. It is now a "must do" for every time. From the all-fresh, mostly-local ingredients to the truly unique menu to top-shelf service, it was a perfect visit. We did "take home" food from one of Banner Elk's best restaurants the night before and paid $27 for one of our entrees. Our entire bill for dinner at Frog & Monkey was $27, and the culinary experience was every bit as good. We can't wait to go back, and in fact we're trying to figure out how to work two visits here into a three-day stay...it's that good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bhorner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    24
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Frog & the Monkey is a great little restaurant with wonderful, healthy food and a friendly atmosphere. Tucked into a side street in the small town of Banner Elk, this restaurant is a special find.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MBeaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Food and Service!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We were up visiting with my sister who has a place in Banner Elk. She said we have to try this place. It did not disappoint. Actually the food and service exceeded our expectations. Loved my Shroom and Walnut burger.... I am not a vegetarian but do love veggie options. This was the best veggie burger I have had..moist, hearty and the favors rocked! My sister had the Puffy Fish tacos and my Mom the Cottage Pie which they raved about as well as the oriental Kale was amazing.. And my daughter ( 5 yrs old) had the homemade Mac and Cheese which she about licked the bowl. John and Lindsey , the owners greeted and chatted with us ..very friendly, and our server was down to earth, super friendly, knowledge and very attentive. kid friendly place as well. Oh, and I saved the best for last.... The blueberry fresh Creme Brûlée was to die for! A definitive dining must in Banner Elk! We will be back!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank suzanneo976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blowing Rock, NC
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Fresh local food, innovative casual menu, definitely worth the drive! Call for directions though--it's hard to find.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LitPr0f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We were greeted by a smiling waiter who entertained us all night. We started with the carrot/ginger soup and crab stuffed portobello, both excellent. I had the delicious bison burger and my wife had the artichoke/mushroom/goat cheese pizza. Ended with the delicious almond crime brûlée and frozen chocolate frog. Friendly and efficient service. With a large glass of wine, this meal was very reasonable.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robbieM1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Frog & the Monkey also viewed

Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing